Painting Progress: Biovores & Pyrovores

wh39kPaintedBiovores (1)Painting progress has been coming relatively slow for me as of late (at least it’s a marked improvement over last year).  I can make up excuses, but the big driving force for me to finally get them done is that I’m trying to refrain from playing any of the new bugs until I have everything dipped, so I’m trying to wrap up the last of the stuff.

After today, I’ve almost completed it.  This past weekend, I scrounged together some time and painted up my biovores & pyrovores.  Naturally, they’re just going to be dipped, so I don’t do all that much detail on them (and I’m still quite pleased with the eventual outcome).

In total, I prepped five models for dipping: three pyrovores (who knows, maybe in 8th edition they’ll actually be good?  It seems far too unlikely that they’ll be good in 7th edition, seeing how they sucked rocks in both 5th & 6th), and two biovores.  The biovores will round out three full squads of three (that’s a total of nine for those that are counting).  I’m not sure how often I’ll use them, but they’re really quite good and affordable (at least in game–GW wants an arm and a leg for those little metal fellows).

wh39kPaintedBiovores (2)Since they’re just a base coat of sorts, there isn’t much to talk about on the scheme.  They’re primed black with an ultramarine basecoat and “bleached bone” for the carapace (I say bleached bone, but they’re really some cheap knock-off from Michael’s).  The reds are the same tones I use for my marine weapons, and the greens were honestly just what I had laying around (I honestly don’t remember the name of a single color included–except the final highlight might be scorpion green… or is it snot green?).

So yeah, not much to talk about, and really not much to look at (at least until dipping), but I’m happy that I made some time to work on them.  By my count, there’s only one model level to paint before I can dip.

Can that really be the case?  Stay tuned!

13 comments on “Painting Progress: Biovores & Pyrovores

    • Ouch.

      I guess the truth hurts. The sad part is that I painted models (particularly terrain) a lot in the early parts of last year, but after the kiddo came, painting ground to a halt. Hopefully I can keep on the wagon this year–but I’m not sure that’s going to happen. I’m already tired of painting Tyranids, but then again, with only one more model to go, maybe that ain’t so bad?

      On Mon, May 12, 2014 at 7:32 AM, Warhammer 39,9999 wrote:

      >

      • Eh, you know there was no offense intended.

        Yeah, you can muddle through the last model, get them all dipped and be done for a while. It is a great feeling once you get everything done. Well, done until the next round anyway 😉

      • Oh, and no offense taken at all. Tone is lost on the internet–so thanks for clarifying, though in the case, it’s seemingly unnecessary.

        I’m hoping there is no next round. Honestly, after the last round of ebay auctions, I’ve sincerely considered selling most of my 40k–and part of me is thinking about scrapping it all.

        On Mon, May 12, 2014 at 10:27 AM, Warhammer 39,9999 wrote:

        >

      • Partly because the auctions did so well, and partly because I so very rarely play. Hell, you’ve seen every game I’ve played in the past year, it looks like I’ve squeezed in a whopping 9 games in 12 months. That’s an awful lot of money and space taken up by a hobby that I don’t participate in all that much. I also find myself wondering if the little time I spend in the hobby wouldn’t be better spent with family–or doing something that they can eventually do.

        I know I need something for myself, so I’m not committing to selling my bugs or BLOO at the moment, but I’m toying with the idea. The other armies though, have to go. Crap sitting around and taking up space that I think I may eventually use should be cleaned out at the very least.

        On Mon, May 12, 2014 at 11:23 AM, Warhammer 39,9999 wrote:

        >

  1. Please don’t pull out of the hobby altogether!

    A little bit of me dies every time someone I know does that. Especially when they’ve not only put money and effort in to it in the past, but actually produced some really good stuff.

    Getting rid of your bits and boxes seems like a good compromise, but it’d be a real shame to get rid of your metal and plastic ‘babies’ (the marines with PDF allies and your Tyranids).

    • Hahah, thanks for the kind words.

      I know the feeling you’re talking about, as I’ve had it many, MANY times over the years. All of my friends played in high school and nearly everyone “grew up” and out of the hobby long ago. I’ve had several gaming groups over time that have come and gone, and most of those guys are out of the hobby as well. I’m pretty slow to change, but it happens eventually. If I can get the money out now, it’s worth considering. I know I won’t be doing this in 20 years, so maybe my time could be better spent elsewhere?

      When I’m old, I might look back and wish I had spent more time with my family, but I doubt I’m going to wish I spent more time with 40k. It’s just a passing thought at the moment, but it passes by more than it used to anymore…

      On Mon, May 12, 2014 at 2:25 PM, Warhammer 39,9999 wrote:

      >

      • Everyone needs a hobby. Your family time shouldn’t be compromised because of your hobby of course but you don’t strike me as someone who does that now anyway. Hobbies are great for those reality escapes we all need, whatever that hobby is. Even if you only get to do it infrequently, hobby’ing (it’s a real word, right?), you still have it for when you need it and that’s what matters.

      • Oh, most definitely. Then again, I’m a lazy fat slob, so changing hobbies into something a little more physical wouldn’t be such a bad idea.

        Don’t fret too much about it–it’s all just talk anyway. And, even if I do forsake the game, I’ll still make time to get in a game the next time you visit Alaska. 🙂

        On Tue, May 13, 2014 at 4:14 AM, Warhammer 39,9999 wrote:

        >

      • To add to Thor’s point – not only do you need a hobby, but it would be pretty amazing to have something for your kids to get involved with at one point. I know I used to love playing with my Dad’s railway, and making scenery out of cornflake boxes for him. (They didn’t get permanently incorporated into his set up, but never mind!)

        I think it can be very good for kids to see their parents invested in something so ‘trivial’. I think it helps create a sense of pride and self-reliance and purpose even. Having hobbies were incredibly important for me growing up so I’m glad I had my Dad as an example. And although there was quite a long period where I was pretty much out of the hobby, I kept getting White Dwarf and never got rid of stuff, so I was able to get back in again pretty easily. And now it’s important to me in a different way. It’s brought me back in touch with old friends and still gives me, well, a hobby!

Have something to add?

