Tyranid Painting Progress: Arms & Guns

Nearing another great dipping fest, I figured I might as well do some more arms for my bugs.  I debated this at first, as I had enough to really handle every variation, but just not an excess of them.

wh39k2014ArmsWhat finally pushed me over the top is the new options that Hive Guard have.  Mine are all armed with scything talons, and though I think this might still be the best configuration, it would be nice to have other options.  So, off to ebay I went, and picked up some rending/crushing claws for them.  I wanted to pick up some whip/sword combos as well, but I couldn’t find any sellers that carried them, so I had to do without.

Anywho, while I was at it, I remembered that I seemed to often run out of rending claws/scything talons on my warriors, and I know I don’t have enough guns to outfit every warrior I had, so why not pick up some of those as well (assuming I could get them cheap enough).

So, in total, I managed to snag:

  • 3x Pairs of Scything Talons
  • 9x Pairs of Rending Claws
  • 6x Devourers
  • 3x Pairs of Crushing Claws (Hive Guard)
  • 3x Pairs of Rending Claws (Hive Guard)

I didn’t quite have enough magnets to do them all up (I was surprised at just how many magnets I needed), but I managed to use some larger magnets on the guns that allowed me to stretch what I had).  In short, they’re all cleaned up, magnetized and ready for primer.  I’m also out of small magnets, so I’m going to have to put in another order.  I still have time before dipping as well, so I might wind up picking up some more arms (like the whips/swords), but that remains to be seen.

Slowly, but surely, this is coming together.

10 comments on “Tyranid Painting Progress: Arms & Guns

    • The drilling wasn’t bad at all (though I did get a little overzealous with one of the genestealer claws and drilled completely through it. I contemplating going back and puttying it up, but I ultimately figured that it wouldn’t make much of a difference, so I just painted it up as is.

      Really though, drilling didn’t take long. The whole process was probably about an hour to drill/magnetize them all. It took far longer to clean up all of the mold lines and paint them up.

      On Mon, Apr 7, 2014 at 8:55 AM, Warhammer 39,9999 wrote:

      >

  1. I hate, hate, hate mold line cleaning. I do it of course but I despise it.

    I find that after a little while of non-stop magnet drilling that my hand will cramp up. Probably just old age setting in…

    • Definitely an old age thing. I don’t notice it so much when drilling (at least not with the power drill), but back when I used the pin-vise, it was ridiculous. I power drill everything now–it’s so much faster, and virtually pain free (excepting, of course, when the bit slips and digs into my finger).

      On Mon, Apr 7, 2014 at 10:54 AM, Warhammer 39,9999 wrote:

      >

      • Yep, it’s the pin vise that I’m talking about.

        Hmm. Guess I’ll have to move my cordless drill from the cellar to my man-cave and give it a whirl next time.

      • Highly recommended. Everyone I know seems to use a pin vise, but none seem to be able to explain why. They all just figure it’s necessary because you’re working with small models, but I have almost zero issues using a cordless drill. The “almost” is only due to me getting sloppy when I’m doing a ton of drilling at once, and I occasional drill through.

        It might not be a good move from a safety perspective, so ideally, you’ll have some sort of clamp to hold the model (or at least wear leather gloves to hold him. I find that too cumbersome though, so I’m ok with occasionally drilling into a finger if it means that my hands don’t cramp up so much.

Have something to add?

