Exocrine Painting Progress

wh39kExocrinesPreDip (4)I’m anxious to try some of the new models from the Tyranid codex, but trying to hold off until they’re completely painted (to include dipping).  So, this is some of the progress I’ve made in that area.

Granted, they’re certainly not dipped, but they’re at least completely painted.  I’m not looking for fantastic paint jobs, but rather a relatively clean base-coat, and then I’ll let the stain take care of the shading for me (except for the reds, for some reason, I still paint those with shading.  The reason being that I did for the first few, and I want these to look consistent with the rest of the army).

wh39kExocrinesPreDip (5)There really isn’t all that much to update since my original modeling post, other than to say that they’re painted the “harpies” are too, but I’ll save them for another post).

The only thing I noticed when painting is that I don’t particularly care for the yellow squad markings anymore.  They look too much like the new color I’m using in lieu of Bleached Bone.  Oh well, I’m not going to go back and update it (mostly because I ran out of tentacle pink).

Anywho, feel free to click on the pictures to see larger images.  Sorry for the lighting–I took these at the end of the day in natural sunlight, but it was hard to get them to all be within the beam that shone through the window (it’s still far too cold to do this sort of thing outside).

Feel free to click on any of the thumbnails to see the larger images.

wh39kExocrinesPreDip (2)  wh39kExocrinesPreDip (3)  wh39kExocrinesPreDip (1)

8 comments on “Exocrine Painting Progress

  1. You’re too kind. It’s really no more than a very basic base-coat, but the dip does wonders to even that.

    Yeah, I’ve always painted the ribs a bone color (though it’s more noticeable on these than on many of the others). The Hierophants are good examples of this.

    • Yeah. I picked up 20 termagants this past weekend, and am waiting for some biovores & pyrovores to show up before I dip again. My second attempt at a “last time.”

      On Tue, Mar 18, 2014 at 3:36 AM, Warhammer 39,9999 wrote:

      >

      • More and more I wonder if I’m finished. It’s often just a passing thought, but I do spend a lot of money and time on this game (despite seemingly never playing it). If only I could find someone to buy 10k+ points of painted nids off me….

        On Tue, Mar 18, 2014 at 8:15 AM, Warhammer 39,9999 wrote:

        >

    • LOL, I don’t think you have anything to worry about. I haven’t done the math on how much that would be valued at, but I’m sure that the market for people looking to drop a few thousand on a dipped Tyranid force is relatively small.

      But anything I own is for sale if the price was right…

      On Tue, Mar 18, 2014 at 9:59 AM, Warhammer 39,9999 wrote:

      >

Have something to add?

