Tyranid Modelling Progress: Flyers & Exocrines

wh39kbigbugs2014 (2)I haven’t progressed all that much in my hobbies so far this year.  My latest excuse has been my recent vacation, but rather than making more excuses, I spent some time this past weekend assembling my latest Tyranid purchases.

Despite the issues with the new codex, I did break down and buy 3x Hauraspex/Exocrines and 2x Harpy/Crones, along with the book and the psychic cards.  The completest in me has really toyed with the idea of purchasing a third flyer, but my inner pragmatist knows that I won’t use three flyers in many games at all, so I don’t think it’s worth it.  I could always buy another later, but I hate the mess that comes with dipping my models, so I’ve resolved to make a go of it with two.

Anywho, before I left on vacation, I wound up assembling most of them, but I ran into a shortage of magnets.  So, the day before our flight, I placed an order for some more (along with a bunch of other stuff–mostly for the WHFB goblin army: DAMN YOU, COLE).  So, when I got back home, they were waiting for me, and I put them to use.

wh39kbigbugs2014 (1)There isn’t all that much to write about, since they magnetized really easy.  The only parts that are even moderately interesting is the fact that I put a dollop of green stuff in the Exocrine’s gun to make the magnet stick, and that I assembled each of the flyers based upon looks alone.  I couldn’t be bothered to magnetize every little bit (head, chest spikes, anus), so I just chose combinations that I was fond of, and magnetized the weapons and lampreys/missiles (or whatever they’re called).

Anywho, now I’m off to prime these and throw a coat of paint on them.

Before I get to the dipping stage, does anyone know of anything else I should paint up so that I don’t have to dip ever again (or at least ever again this year?)

 

11 comments on “Tyranid Modelling Progress: Flyers & Exocrines

    • LOL.

      I really didn’t look into which parts are for which models, but there’s definitely an interchangeable option at the back-side of the model. One looked like it was a fleshy bit with teeth (presumably the one that allows you to poop out spore mines) and the other is a long spike. In retrospect, it’s somewhat phallic.

      I guess those are the options to make it a boy bug or a girl bug…

      On Wed, Feb 12, 2014 at 6:48 AM, Warhammer 39,9999 wrote:

      >

    • Yessir. That part is actually quite easy. The way that the Haruspex head assembles leaves a very obvious junction point that’s perfect for magnet placement, and from there it’s easy to align another magnet for the body. The way the various gubbins are laid out, a single small magnet is enough to hold the head in place (I use 1/8″ x 1/8″ rods).

      There are two “gotchas” to the process. The first is minor in that the described magnet location is inside the gun of the Exocrine, which is hollow, so I put a dollop of green stuff in there to hold it in place (you could possibly lower the placement to hide it in the wall of the gun, but that would be the wrong answer, as you’d likely have to do some actual detail work with green stuff to obscure it later.

      The other “gotcha” is that the Haruspex head has tendons below that attach to the body (or at least fit snuggly against it). I suspect that these will be an issue in the future in that they’ll either break off or scratch off paint if they’re removed frequently. We’ll see what happens. Right now, I’m going to leave them as is, and if they become an issue, I’ll shave them down later.

      On Wed, Feb 12, 2014 at 8:07 AM, Warhammer 39,9999 wrote:

      >

  1. Yeah I magnetized my two exocrines as well. Feels like we’re on the same page about Tyranids – I dislike the new codex, love the models, and purchased three flyers and two exocrines. I also dip my stuff.

    I can’t be bothered to magnetize a lot of things. Especially with MCs, you need huge rare earth ones. I also hate moving parts on my minis – makes me crazy.

    My two exocrines post-dip, pre dullcote:

    • Wow, that is mighty glossy, though I’m sure the dullcote will do wonders to tame it.

      I like that scheme. With the red, do you shade that with black before dipping? Or is that just the result of dip over the red? Whatever the case, that’s a pretty great effect.

      On Wed, Feb 12, 2014 at 11:53 AM, Warhammer 39,9999 wrote:

      >

      • With these models I’ve started airbrushing them with black for the shade. I really like it. Most of my other ones I just did stripes on the bottom of each carapace ‘layer’. I really prefer this airbrush method.

        I put an album of the finished dudes here: http://imgur.com/a/P8BGB

        I will likely hit a few with more matte, as this minwax batch was super glossy.

      • Thanks for the link. Are you using a black dip? It never occurred to me that people used anything other than brown. That would explain the shading on the red–it does look sharp though.

        On Thu, Feb 13, 2014 at 4:17 AM, Warhammer 39,9999 wrote:

        >

  2. I’ve only briefly skimmed through the codex so I can’t really speak to it’s effectiveness. I will say that the new models are sweet. I hope the army turns out to be more effective than the initial assessments indicate so we can see them on the tables!
    Nice work so far, I’m looking forward to the post-dip pictures.

    • Thanks for the compliment.

      As for the codex, I managed to play my first game this past weekend (battle report should go live tomorrow). Suffice it to say, I’m not terribly impressed thus far; however, I didn’t play with any of the new models (since they’re not painted yet), and it’s just one game, so we’ll see how my opinion changes over time…

      On Tue, Feb 18, 2014 at 8:38 AM, Warhammer 39,9999 wrote:

      >

Have something to add?

