2013: My Hobby Year in Review

With 2013 drawing to a close, I figured I’d do a look back at the year that was (in regards to my hobby and the progress—or lack thereof—that I’ve made).

Games Played:

WH39999Apoc2013 (52) (Large)I managed to play 9 games this year including one Apocalypse battle.  While those numbers are far from impressive and they are a far cry from justifying how much money I have sunk into this hobby, it really doesn’t seem so bad to me.  For instance, I haven’t played a game since the beginning of October, and I also had quite a dry spell related to the birth of our second child.  So, while averaging less than a game a month is fairly abysmal, it’s honestly better than I thought I’d done.  Obviously, I’d like to manage to get more in for next year, but we’ll see how that plays out.

I’m not terribly pleased with my win/loss ratio, but I chalk that up to just not playing enough games to make a real difference.  For the year, I went 8-1-0, with my only loss coming to Jeff’s Tau (I still have painful flashbacks of that game).   Perhaps my lists are too hard or my opponents just aren’t competitive enough, but I maintain that my lists haven’t changed much over the years (which is to say, they change every game, but they seem relatively comparable to my old ones), nor have my opponents changed dramatically.  I’m probably wrong about at least one of those, but I’m going to chalk the unusually high ratio up to luck.

Hobby Spending:

711324712_oI wound up essentially meeting my Frugal Gaming Goals for 2013.  That’s not 100% true, but it’s relatively accurate.  I did have a dip in May where I’d pre-ordered $1000 in magic cards, but that deal eventually fell through and I was refunded the money.  I also dipped again in August into the red, but I’ve since decided that my original way of maintaining a $0 balance overall was a better way to handle this.  After all, I don’t need to make a profit every year, but rather know that I’m not wasting money on my hobbies.

I also had a rather close call with a card catalog, but it seems that there’s unanimous consent that such a major purchase shouldn’t really count against hobby progress.  Well, it’s almost unanimous, as I’m not 100% convinced myself, but everyone else seems to have been…

With those exceptions, I ultimately wound up in the black for the year, and hope to continue to do so in the future.  It’s obvious where I need to curtail some of my spending habits though, so that gives me something to work on for 2014.  More to come on all of this in my Frugal Gaming – Year in Review post to come sometime next year.

Painting:

wh39k-ImperialStatue (2) (Large)This is one area where I’ve not been so hot this year.  After finishing entirely too many Tyranids last year, I skimped this year.  My painting posts for 2013 include:

Apparently, I also dipped the bulk of the Tyranids I’d painted in 2012 early in 2013 (or maybe I just took that long to post).

It’s not embarrassing that I didn’t make more progress than that, but really only because I painted almost all of it before the birth of the second child.  In fact, the only thing I’ve painted since March has been a smatter of WIP Legion, that I still haven’t finished.    I’d love to see some progress on these if I can find the time.

Resolutions:

Well, I don’t have much to report here because I didn’t actually set any hobby related goals this year.  I really didn’t do any personal goals either (other than to work out twice a week, which I failed at).  I did, however, make some official professional goals, and I’m happy to say that I’ve achieved all of them.  They’re almost all directly related to work projects (ie. Deploy this equipment here by this date, etc.), but there were two goals that dealt with certification that I can share:  I earned my MCSA: 2008 and my PMP certifications.  Not that either of those are in any way significant towards hobby progress, but perhaps I can use them to explain away why I got less gaming in than I would’ve liked?

I’m not sure that I’m going to be setting any official hobby goals for 2014 either.  It would seem that I haven’t done so since 2011, and I’m relatively content with how things are progressing.  The biggest goal I have in regards to the hobby is to have fun with it and ensure that I’m not throwing too many resources at it (be it money or time), and I think I’m doing relatively well at all of those.

Denouement:

Wondering what that word means?   Truth be told, I had to look it up.  It’s apparently:

“/ˌdāno͞oˈmäN/

noun: denouement; plural noun: denouements; noun: dénouement; plural noun: dénouements

  1. the final part of a play, movie, or narrative in which the strands of the plot are drawn together and matters are explained or resolved.”

I just remembered it from the final scene of Clerks and wanted a way to indicate that the section on “resolutions” was ending and I was just wrapping up this post.

While I would’ve liked to have both played more games and gotten more painting done this year, I’m happy where things have fallen in my life.  There’s been enough gaming time that I haven’t gone completely mad, and enough real life joy to balance out the lack of hobby time.  Things are pretty good in my neck of the woods, and I’m hoping the same is true for yours…

7 comments on “2013: My Hobby Year in Review

  1. I still love those marble bases on the Imperium statues. I know it’s unrelated but I’m not sure I have anything relevant to add to the article 🙂

    • Compliments are always relevant! 🙂

      I know what you’re saying though–every time I look at those pics, I beam a little with pride. On a related note, I actually managed to paint a little last night on those other statues, and I think I’m going to try to incorporate black and white marbles into those. We’ll see how those turn out…

  2. Congratulations on your many accomplishments this year, and also on realising what your priorities should be!

    That said, I hope you’ll forget all about restraint and balance and throw yourself wholeheartedly into the new Tyranids in the new year: the models, painting, gaming with them and writing about them. Your Tyranid articles are how I found (and why I originally kept coming back to) your blog, so I hope you’ll be exploring them!

    • Hahah, I’ll give it a shot and see how enthralled with the codex I am. I found it to be a reasonably helpful exercise last time to go through and read all of the rules, and write-up my thoughts on each unit. So, I can’t promise I’ll do ’em all, but I’ll give it a whirl…

Have something to add?

