The One(s) That Got Away

LegendsUncomonsIt’s no secret that I have other hobbies beyond 40k.  Earlier this year, there was a long stint where I was unable to play 40k at all, and I turned to Magic: The Gathering for a quick fix.  It worked out well because I’m able to play multiple games quickly with friends and it doesn’t take much setup time.  When I’m on my own, I can easily build decks to entertain myself (whereas painting and modeling take quite a bit of time and space).

The tie that I have to Magic is that I grew up playing it.  Back in high school, we played in the hallways at lunch, and quite a bit after school.  I started back when Unlimited was out (though I couldn’t justify spending almost double per pack—so I stuck to purchasing Revised).  I even pre-ordered a box of Legends for $90 when it came out (though I quit magic about a week before it was released and sold it back to the store at cost).  Sadly, it spike up to over $1000 within a week after the release.

LegendsCommonsOh well: you win some, you lose some, eh?

Anywho, I spotted some significant Magic memorabilia on Ebay last week and made a note to bid on it.  These auctions were for uncut sheets of Legends, & the Dark.  The seller had common and uncommon sheets of each up for sale, and over the week, they were all between $60 and $200.  I wanted to get at least one to hang on my wall.

Well, those auctions ended Monday and, true to form, I was at my keyboard bidding away.  Sadly, those auctions quickly escaped my pocketbook.  The totals came to:

  • Legends Uncommon Sheet: $768
  • Legends Common Sheet: $415
  • The Dark Uncommon Sheet: $587
  • The Dark Common Sheet: $335

TheDarkUncommonsMy sites were really set on the two uncommon sheets, but apparently my sites were a little low.  I didn’t even bid on the Legends commons (because I’d rather have had the others).  Of the  uncommon sheets, I was the second highest bidder on both—but sadly that’s not enough to take home the prize.  Interesting fact: the same guy won all four auctions.

I guess that isn’t too surprising though: it’s definitely rare stuff and probably worth far more than the bids—though I didn’t feel right bidding even as much as I did.  I would’ve loved to have one of these, but I guess it just wasn’t in the cards.

Oh well, I’ll keep watching.  Maybe someday…

By warhammer39999 Posted in Ebay

5 comments on “The One(s) That Got Away

  1. Ah, I remember playing MtG in high school. I started when 4th Edition dropped, after seeing an article about the game in Wizard magazine (Do they still print that?). I convinced a friend to get a starter deck with me and we played game after game at his kitchen table every day after school, before we both drove off to after-school jobs.
    The first rare I ever got was the Royal Assassin, which my friend HATED because I’d always murder his Leviathan with it. He hated it so much, he refused to play for a week until I traded it away for some Serra Angels. We then engaged in an arms race of Serra Angels versus Sengir Vampires in a classic white/black magic showdown. Then he started sneaking green into his deck, and I started sneaking in blue.
    We used to snap up packs of Fallen Empires and Chronicles like they were candy.

    It all fell apart shortly after Alliances was released, as the group had expanded to other kids in our school whose mommies and daddies bought them cases of booster boxes, while we were diverting gas money to buy a pack or two every couple weeks. We just couldn’t keep up with the power levels when it became about how much money you had. We sold those kids all our cards and moved on to Decipher’s Star Wars CCG and then Marvel Overpower.

    • I remember buying a ton of Antiquities (never really getting much of anything good, though I did have a Mishra’s Workshop and a Gaea’s Avenger–which was actually considered good among our crowd), and I bought my fair share of Ice Age. Having a piece of “art” that reminds me of that would be great to have in the house–even if I play the game sparingly anymore.

      I remember the star wars CCG, but we never really figured out how to play it. We opened a bunch of packs and sold all of our rares to the store and just kept all of the commons/uncommons and made a pseudo game of go-fish out of it. We named it “Oota Goota, Solo?”. I remember so little of it. We had more than four Vaporators. I remember “Blue Milk” being a card, and we really liked saying “WED 15-17 Septoid Droid” (which itself, must have been an uncommon because we matched it with some other droid). I also remember that when someone didn’t have a card you wanted, you told them to “Go kiss a wookie.”

      Good times…

      • Yeah, it was a little bit of a complex game to learn. Lots of card flipping, turning, and shuffling. My favorite memory of the game was a massive 10-person mega battle we had in my friend Al’s basement. A force of like 15 X-Wings took on the Executor, and the entire Main Cast was involved in a battle on Hoth. At one point, I actually owned every card in every set due to having extra money when I was in the Marines and no one to play the game with. I’d just go to the PX and buy packs upon packs. When I got out, I forgot to pack the boxes and threw the whole collection in the dumpster before getting on the bus to the airport for my flight home.

        I remember playing a couple games of MtG for ante, but the practice of playing “draw ante” games stopped very suddenly when someone drew a White Knight or other common against someone else’s Baron Sengir or something. Wasn’t me, but I remember the row that ensued in the classroom we played in resulting in our banning from said room for the year.

        We played “common ante” with Star Wars CCG and Overpower, of a sorts. Instead of putting up cards on the game, we instead used commons as life counters while playing games of Lunch Money. Winner took all the counters. There was a common practice of picking one card from your winnings pile and eating it (or chewing it up and spitting it on the floor, rather). We were weird kids.

  2. I remember those days. You talking me into putting a card up for ante. Me doing my best lose but failing. You being a nice guy and giving me my card back after you won.

    I almost never won. That and the expense is why I quit playing.

    John

    • Nobody liked playing for ante–but I felt it was a fundamental part of the game, plus I was good (or maybe I just had good cards), so it was in my interest to do so. I remember playing a game with Jerm for “overkill” ante and I slow-played him to ensure I killed him by more than 10 points–at which point he had to ante up another card for every life below zero. I’m pretty sure I picked up a cyclopean tomb and a word of command off him for that game (which I traded back to him for a bunch of cheap crap–still though, that was like $150 at the time).

      Good times…

Have something to add?

