Old Stuff Day – 2013 Edition

Old Stuff Day (Small)  Original Art by http://firstkeeper.deviantart.com/

Old Stuff Day (Small) Original Art by http://firstkeeper.deviantart.com/

As you may be aware, today is Old Stuff Day.  It’s a time to dust off old posts and celebrate them like they’re new.  In the past, I’ve used this to show off some of my own work, but this year, I’ve decided that stuff can take a back seat to some of the great stuff I’ve read about on other blogs.

In particular, I’m going to try to focus on blogs that don’t really post anymore.  The thought is that many people who are new to blogging might not be aware of their existence.

Lascannons & Lances

Lascannons & Lances is a little blog that was only active for a little over a year, but during that time, he cranked out some amazing content.  Some of my personal favorite is his scratch build dreadnought (which apparently was never finished), his riveting tutorial (pun intended), and his instructions on how to make custom shoulderpads.  It’s really one of those blogs where you can’t go wrong reading.  There is so much great stuff in there, that virtually every post is earth-shattering in it’s quality.  Sadly, it’s been close to two years since he’d posted anything.

40k Addict

Despite the fact that I’m trying to focus on defunct blogs, I just can’t gloss over Dwez’s work over at 40k Addict.  Dwez has been pushing out quality content since 2010.   He’s got a little hobby blog that covers a little bit of everything: painting, modelling, battle reports, etc.  My personal favorites over there are anything that includes painting, or modelling, as the guy has mad skills.

Check out anything from his Tyranid army for some impressive looking critters, including a chintinous Aegis Defense Line and quad gun (which I’ve shamelessly copied for my own purposes).  He also has worked up a ton of templates on how to build some really impressive terrain (mostly buildings) that warrant a bookmark from every hobbiest.  Lastly, he’s always coming out with little tokens and counters that he makes for wound templates, turn markers, mysterious terrain, and–my personal favorite–biomancy counters.  They’re high quality images, and he puts all of these templates up in downloadable form to share with the world.  Thanks Dwez!

CMBS on Ultramarine Blues:

Ultramarine Blues is a blog that hasn’t posted in a while (going on a year now).  To be honest, I wasn’t a devout follower of the blog when it was active.   He had really started and reached his prime before I got into the 40k blogging scene; however, I did go back and read through some of his older posts, and fell in love with his post on “Compulsive Model Buying Syndrome.”  It’s the sort of post that really resonated with me.  It probably won’t change your life, but it’s a good read, none-the-less.

From the Warp:

What post about fantastic content from people no longer blogging would be complete without mentioning Ron over at From the Warp.  The man is a titan in the community, and honestly, I’m not sure he can do any wrong.

I found his blog because he was the purveyor of the largest independent blog-roll out there, and he is credited with much of my early traffic to this blog, but he was more than that.  He put out amazing tutorials, fantastic conversions, great paint jobs, and so much more.  For specific links, I’m having a hard time not linking to every post he’s made.  It’s really just that good.

If you haven’t already seen his site, you owe it to yourself to go there now.  For a starting point, you can’t go wrong with starting with the first post and reading back to the beginning; however, if you want to get to some of the meatiest stuff right away, might I suggest diving into his project page.  He has links to all sorts of great paint and conversion work, and from there you can spider out into all of his tutorials and work in progress stuff.

Sadly, Ron is on hiatus at the moment, but I have high hopes that he’ll return to blogging one day.  I’m sure I’m joined by everyone else in the community on that sentiment.

Conclusion

So there you have it.  I’d like to extend a personal thank you to everyone who contributes to the community and gives us somethign to celebrate on Old Stuff Day.  Thanks to everyone who takes time to write a hobby inspired blog and share their models, thoughts, and hearts with the rest of us.  Thanks to everyone who takes the time to comment–as they’re often the inspiration to keep us bloggers going.  And thanks to everyone who is actively celebrating Old Stuff Day.  You guys are awesome.

 

3 comments on “Old Stuff Day – 2013 Edition

  1. I can’t believe I missed it this year. It’s tempting to do it anyway, just late. I’ll have a think.

    I like your approach here too, of focusing on the much missed posters. Too many great blogs fall by the wayside. At least they’re still up, as a record and for fresh inspiration.

    • Hey Porks:

      Thanks for taking the time to check this out–even after the fact–and taking the time to post. As for participating late, I don’t think there’s any harm to it. It’s always good to bring some love to past posts: be them from others or your own.

Have something to add?

