Batrep: Ultramarines vs. Tyranids (1500 pts)

I played a game with a new guy in the crew, Dave.  He’s a short timer, expecting to PCS out to someplace in the South early next year, but it’s good to have some fresh blood from time to time.  Dave’s primary army is Tyranids, and we’d talked a bit in the past about strategy and such in 6th edition.  Talk had come to an end though, and it was time to kill me some bugs…

Ultramarine Forces:

  • UltraNidsDave (1)HQ:
    • Kaa’van Shrike
  • Elites:
    • 5x Assault Terminators w/ Thunderhammer & Stormshield
    • Ironclad Dreadnought in Drop Pod w/ Deathwind Launcher
  • Troops:
    • 10x Tactical Marines w/ Lascannon, Plasmagun, & Powerfist in Rhino w/ HK missile
    • 10x Tactical Marines w/ Missile Launcher & Flamer
    • 5x Scouts w/ Sniper Rifles & Missile Launcher
  • Fast Attack:
    • 3x Bikes w/ 2x Plasma
    • 1x Attack Bike w/ Multi-melta
    • 1x Attack Bike w/ Multi-melta
  • Heavy Support:
    • Vindicator w/ Storm Bolter

Pretty standard sort of force for me.  Though I like to mix things up a lot, I’m pretty fond of the Ironclad in pod (I use it almost as much as I use the Doom in pod for my bugs), and a tactical squad with las/plas.  The other units vary a bit depending upon what I’m in the mood for, but it’s unusual for me to take vehicles much (because I really haven’t bothered to paint them).  Still, nothing terribly unusual for me here…

Tyranid Forces:

  • UltraNidsDave (2)HQ:
    • Swarmlord
  • Elites:
    • 3x Zoanthropes in a Mycetic Spore w/ Cluster Spines
    • 3x Hive Guard
    • Doom of Malan’tai in Mycetic Spore w/ Cluster Spines
  • Troops:
    • 10x Genestealers inc. Broodlord in Mycetic Spore w/ Cluster Spines
    • 10x Genestealers inc. Broodlord in Mycetic Spore w/ Cluster Spines
  • Heavy Support:
    • 3x Biovores

It’s possible that the “Swarmlord” was actually just a Tyrant, though I’m quite certain whatever it was, it did not actually have wings.  Aside from that, the list was unusual to me in that it had so many drop pods.  I’d never played against a drop bug list, and though I do own enough spores to create such a list myself, I never bothered to do that either.  I guess that just means I’ll have to try one day, eh?

Dave, like me, is infatuated with the Doom in Pod.  In fact, I think he plays with him just about every game (and rightfully so).  He also is quite fond of fielding his pyrovore models as biovores.

Mission:

UltraNidsDave (3)We had an objective grab mission where I believe Heavy Support scores (Big Guns Never Tire, I s’pose).  There were a total of four objectives: on atop the hill in the center of the board, one in the center of my deployment zone, one in the forest in the back corner of my zone, and another in the small set of woods between his tyrant and my scouts.  We used random objectives, but I don’t believe we also used mysterious terrain.  I do recall that no objectives really seemed to affect the play of the game—there was a time when it was possible, but I instead opted to move off an objective that would’ve helped me in order to shoot at nearby genestealers.

I’m pretty sure that he went first, because I remember that the terrain placement seemed to shaft me.  He had setup the board prior to the game, and had no idea what mission/army etc. we’d be playing, or which side he’d be on.  The line for my deployment zone was just short of any terrain I could use to get clear lines of sight across the battlefield.  They did give me cover, but against his high-AP weaponry, cover wasn’t something I was overly concerned about.  Oh well, that’s the luck of the draw.

Turn 1: Tyranids:

UltraNidsDave (4)He didn’t care to move forward into the charge range of my terminators, so he just opened fire with some hive guard and the biovores.  Despite scoring a paltry amount of actual wounds on my models (I believe it was just five) with AP4 (or worse) weaponry, I managed to fail three saves, making short work out of my expensive terminator squad.  This wasn’t anything for me to be surprised by, as my terminators routinely disappoint me, but I field them now and again to remind me of how bad I am at rolling dice.  J

Turn 1: Ultramarines

My dreadnought came down and missed with his meltagun shot (par for the course), but managed to score a wound with his flamer.  I wound up focusing fire with everything I had at his Swarmlord, knowing that I didn’t want to face it in assault.  Everything that could see him through night-fight went ahead and fired at him: lascannon, 2x Missile launcher, sniper scouts, multi-melta attack bikes, and a hunter killer missile.  Luck was on my side for this, because the last possible shot (two wounds from sniper rifles) both hit home, and he failed his armor saves, leaving me one less big bug to worry about.  Granted, I didn’t do anything to his hive guard or biovores, but I did at least take away their synapse (And the scariest model on the board), so this made for a rousing success for the boys in blue.

Turn 2: Tyranids

Dave managed to roll in with the Doom & a unit of genestealers.  His placement on the Doom was questionable to me, as he put it in a spot that didn’t immediately threaten/defend an objective, and only had two small units within range (one of which was a unit of scouts with camo cloaks).   While he did minimal damage (the scouts took the most wounds, but wound up going to ground and not losing models as a result), he left my heavy weapon models alive, which meant I had a shot to instant-kill him.

The genestealers, however, were more sneaky.  They arrived on the far flank of the board and cowered behind their mycetic spore: ready to pounce next turn.

Turn 2: Ultramarines

I’d moved my attack bikes into position against the Doom, and let loose with all of the S8+ weapons I could muster.  Despite hitting and wounding with everything, he wound up saving every one of those hits.  He also wound up saving against every bolter wound I’d done as well.  Normally, I wouldn’t mind that (or even bother firing small arms at him), but it was clear that the big guns were getting tired (despite the name of the mission), and someone had to pick up the slack.

My terminators and ironclad advanced towards the hive guard, and the Dread actually made his charge.  They could do nothing against his armor 13 front, and died frantically wishing I’d used a cheaper sarcophagus.

Elsewhere, my combat squad of tactical marines advanced towards the genestealers and opened up with a flamer & some bolters.  I also lobbed a risky demolisher cannon shell from the vindicator at them, which deviated perfectly to hit the squad in the back.  The result there?  8 of the ‘stealers (including the Broodlord) perished in the explosion.

Turn 3: Tyranids

UltraNidsDave (10)In his shooting phase, his biovores started firing at my marines holding remote objectives, which was impressive because that meant he was passing his tests for being out of synapse, despite having a miserably low leadership score.  After a couple of rounds of firing, he’d still yet to do an unsaved wound though.

In combat, the battered genestealers made short work of the combat squad that had killed so many of their brethren, and took cover on the objective in the woods.  Elsewhere, in combat, my ironclad slaughtered the hive guard, and rather than pursuing the biovores around the building, moved his meltagun towards that infernal Doom of Malan’tai, who still refused to fail a save.

Turn 3: Ultramarines

Things were looking good by this point.  I did have two lowly genestealers holding an objective in my deployment zone, and a pesky Doom (who survived another turn of shooting… grrrr), but otherwise, he just had a squad of biovores hiding in the quarter, and two units in pods that had yet to show up: Genestealers & Zoanthropes.  If I could only take out that Doom, I’d be able to handle the rest rather easily…

Turn 4: Tyranids

UltraNidsDave (16)With the last of his reinforcements available, we enlisted the help of some non-partisan observers to give Dave some advice.  The game wasn’t a foregone conclusion, but if he was to win, he was going to have to make some strategic moves and have a bit of luck on his side.  His thoughts were that he would need to focus on one half of the board.  With his biovores being scoring (thanks to the mission type), two ‘stealers hiding in the woods, and another squad still yet to hit the board, he could only hope to overwhelm one of my flanks and hold 1-2 objectives while maybe contesting another.  After committing to the left flank, he had an unfortunate mishap with his genestealers which found them delayed for a turn.

The Zoanthropes, however, hit their mark and firmly held (contested) one objective, and opened fire on the two remaining Terminators.  Thank goodness for the investment in their storm shields!  Meanwhile, the biovores continued to rain down spores with little overall effect…

Turn 4: Ultramarines

UltraNidsDave (17)The dread, happy that something came close enough to charge demolished the nearby mycetic spore, while the terminators charged into the Zoanthropes, killing two.  Meanwhile, I committed the other tactical combat squad (in the rhino) to help hold down the fort over there as well.  The two genestealers left alone on the far side of the board died to a hail of bolter fire, and the heavy weapons finally proved to be too much for the Doom.

Turn 5: Tyranids

UltraNidsDave (19)The genestealers finally arrived, but sadly deviated a full 11” from their intended target.  Despite being placed in a spot where deviations should have moved them back to their original location, 11” was far enough that it was able to deviate entirely to the other side of the building.  This resulted in the Genestealers being even farther from their objective…

Turn 5: Ultramarines

With the bulk of his forces huddled up within 12” of my drop pod, it was the death wind’s turn to shine.  Despite hitting, he was granted cover saves, and I was unable to much damage.

Nearby, the last surviving Zoanthrope fell to the charge of a tactical squad, who had come to rescue my assault terminators.  Yay!

Turn 6:

The game was all but over, but Dave proved close enough to make a charge against my Terminators with his Genestealers, and made short work of the two surviving models.  We called the game at that point, allowing Dave a bit of a personal victory, and ending it on a high note.

UltraNidsDave (23)

What I learned:

  • Mycetic Spores suffer from randomness.  Part of the problem with Dave’s army was that he was only able to deploy a squad or two per turn, as a result, I was able to focus my entire army at each unit that came in, thereby rendering each almost useless.
  • Terminator armor does not save lives.  At least not when I’m rolling the dice…
  • Dave is a good guy.  This is the first time I’d played with him.  He’s a rather new addition to the local gaming club, and he’s a good person and a good sport.
  • Scouts with Camo cloaks are pretty fantastic.  They helped kill that swarmlord on the first turn, and then tied up the doom making a ton of 2+ cover saves throughout the game.  Don’t ask me why I can make a 2+ cover save and not a 2+ armor save…
4 comments on “Batrep: Ultramarines vs. Tyranids (1500 pts)

  1. Good report – and a nice looking game. I especially like your terminators – all two of them…

    “The game was all but over, but Dave proved close enough to make a charge against my Tyranids with his Genestealers, and made short work of the two surviving models.”

    You’d have thought, with the odds stacked against him by this point, he’d have wanted the stealers to pick on your tacticals rather than other tyranids! 🙂

  2. It was the ‘Tyranids’ typo when you meant Terminators (rather than tacticals), but I guessed it was something along those lines!

Have something to add?

