Making Explosion Markers

Years ago, I stumbled upon a post over at Santa Cruz Warhammer that gave some pretty nifty ideas for making “vehicle destroyed” markers. The idea is that when a vehicle is wrecked/destroyed, it should generally stay on the table, but needs a suitable way of remembering that it’s really unusable. Their solution was to make flaming smoke piles with Halloween candles.

Halloween has come and gone, and I didn’t think to pick up any of those flameless candles back when they were cheap; however, my brother-in-law was goodly enough to get married recently, and their chief decorating motif was with these battery powered devices. Naturally, I commandeered as many as possible at the end of the event. They’ll serve to light up the fake pumpkins I’ve carved throughout the years (including a Tyranid hormagaunt and a my demonic baby fetus), but the spares went to making some of these nifty spoke objectives.

I won’t go through the details on how to make them, as Santa Cruz does that well already. I just figured I’d show you my finished products.

I didn’t have any painted vehicles handy when I was taking pictures, but you should get the idea from what you see. In total, I made a little over a dozen of these things. Since I got the candles for free, and already had a bunch of glue sticks (for the record, this only took one), I only had to pay for a bag of “christmas snow,” which came to $3.99. Sadly, I didn’t use even a 16th of that total bag though, so the total investment should be something more like $1.

 

 

 

 

13 comments on “Making Explosion Markers

    • Total time to make a dozen of them was definitely less than an hour. I was surprised at how quick they were–but then again, it’s just apply glue, and zap with spray paint, so I’m not sure how hard I expected them to be…

    • I haven’t played with them, but I think bigger would be problematic, as they already take up the bulk of the hull on a rhino chassis. Bigger would also be an issue because I was constrained by the size of the battery-operated candles, so bigger would’ve meant either more candles or more cotton.

      We’ll see what they look like in action when I actually play a game. I’m hoping to bring them to our next Apoc game–and, in that regard, bigger is always better, right?

  1. I was just pricing these out the day after Halloween to do the same thing – except to have “flaming buildings” during the 40K Warzone Tournament at Adepticon 2013. haha. You can find some cheap packs of 20 online.

  2. Fantastic, I had the same idea when I saw these “candles” at work at Halloween, I’d never seen them before lol. I’ve always toyed with wiring LEDs into scenery, but this takes all the hassle out.

Have something to add?

