Praetorian Guard for Sale (and Tyranids too!)

Today’s post in Ebay week was supposed to be about Imperial Guard models, but in honor of the fact that I had a picture of my Tyranids on BoLS’ picture of the day, I figured I’d also pimp some bugs that I’m selling as well.

Sadly, I lumped all of the Tyranids into a single auction, so there’s not much content to pimp, but it’s a great deal at the current price.  For just over $80, you get:

  • 1 Hive Tyrant (plastic)
  • 1 Carnifex
  • 3 Tyranid Warriors
  • 3 Ripper Swarms
  • 8 Genestealers
  • 1 Venomthrope
  • 15 Termagants
  • 35 Hormagaunts
  • 4-6 Gargoyles (older metal)

That’s over $300 in models.  The current discount is amazing.  Certainly, I’m hoping that it goes up significantly from there, but you could wind up getting a steal at the current price…

Enough about that.  What I really wanted to talk about today was the fact that I also had a limited edition Praetorian Guard boxed set up on Ebay as well.

Back in the day, I had great aspirations of making an entire army of these pith-helmeted heroes.  The entire army was to draped in an African Safari theme, with these guys at the core.  I purchased some elephants from another manufacturer, and was going to put guardsmen in howdas to make my sentinels; camels for my rough rider squads, and even picked up a ton of metal arabs from Foundry miniatures to serve as conscripts/tank washers.

That was back when the Praetorians were still up for sale; in fact, I’d ordered a special deal on them back in the day when the SKULZ promotion was still going on.  They offered some crazy deal on IG if you ordered them direct and bought at least $1000 in models.  I managed to hold on to them for a few years before I realized how much money was sitting on the shelf and that I’d never actually get around to making the army.

Years after I sold them, I saw this box in someone’s trade fodder, and nostalgia dictated that I pick it up.  Now, after another few years of it sitting in my closet, it’s time to part ways again.

Fortunately for me, the value on these guys seems to have held significantly well over the years.  Unlike most of the other old metals, they seem to be fairly comparably priced to existing models.  Seeing as this box is still sealed and contains not only the squads and heavy weapons teams, but the casualty models as well, I’m hoping it goes for a pretty penny.

I’d love to tie this in to the Tyranid stuff above by saying they’d make great genestealer cult, but frankly, that’s not true.  Not that I’m beyond whoring my wares out like that, mind you.  If you’re looking for Genestealer cult, I’d highly suggest one of the two auctions I have of Cadian models with all of the Imperial symbols filed off them.)

I’d love if you went and checked out my other auctions as well.  There’s tons of stuff out there looking for a good home, including a variety of other rare and hard to find models.

Check out my other auctions here.

Have something to add?

