Somewhere between 10,000-14,000 points of Hive Fleet Proteus (with pictures)

A while back, I created a poll that asked how best to calculate how many total “points” an army consists of.  I gave options like:

  • Use every upgrade possible to inflate the price to the absolute maximum
  • Use the most common options you’d field
  • Use the bare minimum of every selection

Well, after 70+ votes, it was pretty close between the last two, and only six people voted for the extended “epeen” option (which I initially thought would be the runaway champion).

The point of this poll was that I’d eventually figure out how to count up my army and then use it to post a total points value.   At the time of posting the poll, I’d counted up my army in both the cheap/expensive methods (in preparation for the eventual follow-up post), but that post never came.

And since then, I’ve pumped out a bunch of new models that skew the total results, including: termagants, hive guard, malenthropes, zoanthropes, and—most recently—an aegis defense line.  Oh well, I was smart enough to add it all up in a spreadsheet, so it will be easy to update.

The thing that won’t be easy, is the photos I took of my army.  Though these are no longer representative of my entire swarm, I went through the troubles to set them up and take the pictures, so I thought I’d post some images, just the same.

And while I’m at it, here are the two ‘totals’ for my army before my renewed painting vigor.  After I finish dipping the new models, I’ll go ahead and update these totals, and post new pictures as well…

“Cheap Option” – 10,675 Points

  • 2x Hive Tyrant
  • 1x Flyrant
  • 3x Tyrant Guard
  • 3x Tervigon
  • 1x Parasite of Mortrex
  • 2x Hive Guard
  • 2x Venomthrope
  • 8x Zoanthrope
  • 1x Doom
  • 30x Ymgarls
  • 12x Warriors
  • 60x Genestealers
  • 6x BroodLord
  • 9x Mycetic Spore
  • 22x Termagants
  • 19x Termagants
  • 22x Termagants
  • 22x Termagants
  • 13x Termagants
  • 2x Termagants
  • 20x Hormagaunts
  • 20x Hormagaunts
  • 20x Hormagaunts
  • 26x Rippers
  • 12x Raveners
  • 40x Gargoyles
  • 5x Biovore
  • 3x Mawloc
  • 2x Hierophant
  • 77x Spore Mines
  • 1x Hive Tyrant
  • 1x Flyrant
  • 1x Swarmlord
  • 3x Tyrant Guard
  • 2x Tryanid Prime
  • 1x Parasite of Mortrex
  • 2x Hive Guard
  • 2x Venomthrope
  • 8x Zoanthrope
  • 1x Doom
  • 30x Ymgarls
  • 60x Genestealers
  • 6x BroodLord
  • 9x Mycetic Spore
  • 22x Termagant
  • 19x Termagant
  • 22x Termagant
  • 22x Termagant
  • 13x Termagant
  • 2x Termagant
  • 20x Hormagaunt
  • 20x Hormagaunt
  • 20x Hormagaunt
  • 26x Rippers
  • 10x Shrike
  • 12x Raveners
  • 40x Gargoyles
  • 3x Carnifex
  • 5x Biovore
  • 3x Trygon Prime
  • 2x Hierophant
  • 77x Spore Mines

“Expensive Option” – 14,147 Points

  • 1x Hive Tyrant
  • 1x Flyrant
  • 1x Swarmlord
  • 3x Tyrant Guard
  • 2x Tryanid Prime
  • 1x Parasite of Mortrex
  • 2x Hive Guard
  • 2x Venomthrope
  • 8x Zoanthrope
  • 1x Doom
  • 30x Ymgarls
  • 60x Genestealers
  • 6x BroodLord
  • 9x Mycetic Spore
  • 22x Termagant
  • 19x Termagant
  • 22x Termagant
  • 22x Termagant
  • 13x Termagant
  • 2x Termagant
  • 20x Hormagaunt
  • 20x Hormagaunt
  • 20x Hormagaunt
  • 26x Rippers
  • 10x Shrike
  • 12x Raveners
  • 40x Gargoyles
  • 3x Carnifex
  • 5x Biovore
  • 3x Trygon Prime
  • 2x Hierophant
  • 77x Spore Mines

As always, all pictures are just thumbnails, so feel free to click on any to see a bigger image.  I’m also going to post a slew of other images down below in thumbnail format, so please be sure to check them out.

The only thing I ask is that if you post any of these pictures anywhere else on the net that you give me credit–by either mentioning the site name or (preferably) linking back to my blog.

Thanks again for dropping by…

Also, as a head’s up, next week I’m planning on posting several entire armies up on Ebay.  I’ll try to post pictures of everything on the blog, so you’ll have an idea of what’s going up.  Please be sure to check back in then to score some loot!

17 comments on “Somewhere between 10,000-14,000 points of Hive Fleet Proteus (with pictures)

    • Is it wrong that I actually like rippers? I loved them in the 4th edition book, and only wish they could score. If so, they’d be unbelievable. Besides, the forgeworld models are expensive enough that if you buy them, you really *have* to paint them.

    • Thanks. I half hope to play a game one day where I can field them all–then again, I think that would make for a miserable game and, as you can see, I’d need an entire board as my deployment zone.

      • I suspect that last response was for John below.

        Otherwise i bet i can field 10k of painted models, not in one faction….but if i take the IG i still have…coupled with GK’s, and Space Wolves.

        Course you said thats 10k with no upgrades right? or was it rational upgrades?

      • It was 10k of painted models with zero upgrades, and using the bare minimum of everything possible. For example, it used all my termagants as terms with fleshborers, all MC’s had base configuration (or if they were required to pick weapons, they have the cheapest possible ones).

        Playing against you wouldn’t be fair though. You’d have the auto-win that is Draigo… 😦

    • Thanks. It does feel like quite an accomplishment to see them all splayed out like that. I’m just regretting my urge to paint up another batch, considering how long it took to lay everything out and get pictures last time. >.<

  1. Wow… That lot does look fantastic! i can’t wait to see the photos of the expanded army… And some nicely posed diorama shots of these guys in action against your Ultramarines…

Have something to add?

