Tyranid Painting Progress – Hive Guard

I’ve been a dangerously close to finishing my Tyranid army, with only a handful of models left to paint (before dipping).  This week, I tackled my remaining hive guard.  While it was supposed to be just two models, I did a last minute swap with a guy online.  Two hive guard (finecast!) for a furioso dread.  Seemed like a reasonable deal all around.

I have to admit that I was pretty impressed with the resin version of the models, as I couldn’t find a single air bubble.  However, during painting, both of them showed a bubble on the back end of the pink chitin that feeds into the gun.  It’s not really noticable though, so I’m ok with it.  It does mean that I’m going to have to stop saying that I own exactly zero finecast models though..

Oh, bother.

Anywho, since I have six of these guys, I opted to paint them in three squads of two.  I don’t think I’ve ever run a full squad of three of these (mostly because 100 points is such a nice round number).  I guess if I got crazy in the future, I could expand them, right?

That leaves a couple of Malenthropes and some Mieotic Spores, and I’m ready to dip, right?  Well, I guess I’d like to pick up a plastic set of tyrant sword/whip arms too.

I guess an addict’s work is never done…

By the way, if you’re looking to trade/buy stuff, I’m going to be reworking my trading page soon.  In the meantime, I’d encourage you to check out the links to armies I’ve purchased off my Frugal Gaming page.  Everything I’ve picked up is for sale (for the right price).

3 comments on “Tyranid Painting Progress – Hive Guard

  1. You’re making a lot of progress lately, or is it just that you’re actually posting it? Either way, well done. It feels so damn good to get an army “complete”.

    • I didn’t think it seemed like much progress–though it’s considerably more than I’ve done in the past. I’ve taken to leaving my unpainted models on the dining room table, so I have to walk by them all of the time. It inspires me to get them finished a little faster that way….

      The sad part is, I thought I was finished with this army before. So much so, that I’d taken everything out of their foam, set it up on the table, and took army pictures of the force. Believe me, it really seemed like a complete army, but somehow I was wrong…

Have something to add?

