My First 6th Edition Game & A Farewell to Tony

Local player, reknowned sportsman, former WH39k contributer, and all around good guy, Tony is getting shipped out to “Corn Country,” so Cole decided to throw one last hurrah game to celebrate in style.  Those two had actually been playing fairly regularly since the release of 6th edition, but I’d avoided it (due to my injury).  I couldn’t rightfully say no to a final game with Tony though, so we threw down, along with Cole’s buddy George for a 4k per side Chitin vs. Gears match for my last game with Tony and my first of 6th edition:

Army Lists

I’ll do my best here to remember what was in each list based upon the photographs I took.  Feel free to point and jeer at me if I got any of it wrong:

Hive Fleet Proteus:

  • HQ:
    • Tervigon w/ Cluster Spines, & all three Psychic Powers
    • Tervigon w/ Cluster Spines, & all three Psychic Powers
    • Tervigon w/ Cluster Spines, & all three Psychic Powers
  • Elites:
    • 2x Zoanthropes
    • 2x Zoanthropes
    • 2x Zoanthropes
    • 2x Hive Guard
    • 2x Hive Guard
    • Doom of Malan’tai (in pod w/ cluster spines)
  • Troops:
    • 5x Genestealers (inc. Broodlord w/ scything talons)
    • 5x Genestealers (inc. Broodlord w/ scything talons)
    • 5x Genestealers (inc. Broodlord w/ scything talons)
    • 5x Genestealers (inc. Broodlord w/ scything talons)
    • 5x Genestealers (inc. Broodlord w/ scything talons)
    • 5x Genestealers (inc. Broodlord w/ scything talons)

I went heavy psyker (to test the new rules, and a theory–which proved to be wrong, but more on that later), and it turns out that I was the only one that took advantage of the double FoC rules.  I maxed out Elites (surprise, eh?) and one FoC worth of troops, plus almost maxed my HQ’s.  In retrospect, I find it odd that I didn’t have a single FAST or HEAVY unit in my entire army…

Tony’s Tyranid Swarm

  • HQ:
    • Swarmlord
    • Hive Tyrant w/ twin-linked brainleech & Old Adversary
    • 1x Tyrant Guard w/ lashwhips
    • 1x Tyrant Guard w/ lashwhips
  • Elites:
    • 2x Lictor
    • 2x Zoanthrope
    • 8x Ymgarls
  • Troops:
    • 15x Termagants
    • 10x Termagants
    • Tervigon w/ Adrenal, Toxin, Catalyst, Cluster Spines, & Scything Talons
  • Heavy:
    • Trygon w/ Toxin Sacs
    • Carnifex w/ twin-linked brain leech worms
    • Carnifex w/ twin-linked brain leech worms

Tony normally plays Blood Angels or Demons, but as he’s moving and all of his stuff was packed up, he fielded Cole’s bugs.  Cole has a limited selection (as is the case, when you have 5+ complete painted armies), and Tony wasn’t really familiar with the ‘dex as a whole, so he gave Cole a general idea and had him build the list. 

Before the game, I mocked Tony for having lictors in his list, but they proved to be rather effective… Go figure.

George’s Machinations:

  • HQ:
    • Anrakyr, the Traveller + Royal Court
  • Elites:
    • Triarch Stalker
    • Triarch Stalker
  • Troops:
    • 20x Necron Warriors
    • 10x(?) Necron Immortals w/ Gauss Blasters
    • 10x(?) Necron Immortals w/ Tesla Carbines
  • Fast Attack:
    • 10x Necron Scarab Swarms
  • Heavy:
    • Doom Scythe
    • Doom Scythe
    • Canoptek Spider

I’m a n00b when it comes to the Necron codex, so this is the best I could make of his list when referring to the photographs I took.  What I remember of the force was that he was really anti-vehicle (which was sad, because we didn’t have any).  I also remember hating his flyers–they had so much damage output…

Cole’s Necron Force:

  • HQ:
    • Destroyer Lord w/ weave, mindshackle + Royal Court
    • Nemesor Zahndrekh? (I don’t remember because he didn’t do anything this game)
  • Elites:
    • 5x Lychguard
    • 5x Deathmarks
    • 5x Deathmarks
  • Troops:
    • 20x Necron Warriors
    • 10x Necron Warriors w/ Ghost Ark
    • 10x Necron Immortals w/ Tesla Carbines
  • Fast Attack:
    • 5x Canoptek Wraiths
  • Heavy:
    • ?

As you can tell from my breakdown of the forces, I obviously have a much firmer grasp of the Tyranid lists than the ‘crons.  Of course, that probably has something to do with the fact that I play Tyranids, but it also is because I actually saw copies of those lists—whereas I don’t have the ‘cron lists handy.  It’s also the first time I’ve really played against them, and since I’ve never read through the codex, it’s a huge learning experience for me.  I think this pretty much summarizes what they had though.

The Game

We wound up playing lengthwise (interesting to find that as an option in the new rulebook), with five objectives as our main focal point.  The bugs setup right on the line, looking to charge into the alien robots.  The robots, were more cautious, choosing to sit about 6″ off the line, with the major strategy being to shoot, retreat, shoot, retreat, etc.

In the begining of our game, it became clear that psychic abilities were going to be fairly time consuming, and more than a little confusing.  I’ll break that all down in detail below.  After we got rolling on that, we moved on.  Bugs had the first turn and buffed up then ran forward hastilly.  The ‘crons opted to focus fire on the Swarmlord (who had toughness 9, thanks to Iron Arm), and only managed to kill 2-3 small bugs in an entire shooting phase.

By turn two, we started getting in range of some of our guns/psychic abilities, but didn’t manage to kill more than a handful of robots.  Their turn two was equally uneventful.

Turn three saw us in the thick of it (if you can’t tell, this won’t be very detailed in the actual report, but more focused on the findings).  Our bugs were almost all in charge range, and we started doing some real damage to them.  The lictors managed to come in and snipe a Triarch Stalker (amazing!), and the Ymgarls killed George’s “close combat” Immortals.  We didn’t do much to Cole, but he wasn’t in range of much. 

On their turn three, they focused on the swarmlord again (who was only toughness 7), and he died amidst several re-rolled volleys of deathmarks (wounding on 2+).  The evil space ships came in and rolled an insane amount of sixes to arc lightning into tons of our units, making it look pretty bad for us.  Plus I was multi-assaulted by wraiths and looked to be losing that combat badly.

By turn four, things had turned around a bit.  Doom had finally made it in (and would survive the ensuing shooting phase).  I had rallied some more support into the wraith combats, and Tony was sniping flyers out of the air with Zoanthropes (wha?!?). 

The game had progressed so slowly, that we decided to call it right then (officially we showed up at 5:30 to play, but it was probably much more like 6:30 before we started, but it was 11:30 by the end of the 4th turn).

In the end, it was impossible to figure out who would win the game.  We each were holding two objectives by the time we’d called it, but the Nidz were pushing into the ‘crons and practically already had a third objective, with no clear way of being stopped.  It wasn’t an utterly dominating result though, as much of Cole’s army was still untouched by us.  With no clear victor, we happily called it a tie game, shook hands, and sent Tony packing for Cornville.

The game was far slower than our normal 5th edition games, but I’m not sure why.  Several factors surely contributed including:

  • Unfamiliarity with the rules (6th edition)
  • Unfamiliarity with the codicies (me with ‘crons and Tony with ‘nidz)
  • Friendly banter
  • Slow to start
  • Long/confusing psychic phases for us
  • Abnormally long shooting phases for the Necrons (they wanted to ensure that each unit fired at specific targets in specific orders–made for at least one 30+ minute shooting phase)

I’m curious to find out if the new wound allocation rules also slowed things down (seems like they did, but I’m not sure).  Time will tell if this edition plays faster and slower than 5th though.

Psychic Abilities:

I mentioned these were interesting; here’s why.  The powers that I rolled up were:

  • Blue Broodlord – Iron Arm
  • Green Broodlord – Enfeeble / Endurance
  • Orange Broodlord – Enfeeble / Warp Speed
  • Pink Broodlord – Enfeeble
  • Plain Broodlord – Enfeeble / Warp Speed
  • Yellow Broodlord – Iron Arm
  • Blue Zoanthrope – Endurance / Objuration Mechanicum
  • Pink Zoanthrope – Hemmorage / Psychic Shriek
  • Blue Tervigon – Iron Arm / Hemmorage / Lifeleech

Since the Broodlords have a BS of 0, any skill I rolled with witchfire I simply ignored (that’s why you see half of them with only one ability).  In almost all cases I took rolls on the Biomancy table, but I spread my wings a little and took one power on a Zoanthrope in each of the Pink/Blue squads from Telekenesis and Telepathy (respectively). 

That left me with the following psykers who simply took the powers out of the Tyranid codex:

  • 1x Pink Tervigon
  • 1x Green Tervigon
  • 1x Pink Zoanthrope
  • 1x Blue Zoanthrope
  • 2x Plain Zoanthrope

    Necron Deff-roller?

I’d taken a whopping 15 psykers in my army, and wanted to see what they could do. Perhaps it was a little overboard, but I wanted to test a theory.  My real goal was to load up on as many copies of the Biomancy power “Enfeeble” as I could get, so that I could force the checks on a squad from multiple psykers and cumulatively reduce their strength/toughness to 0, thereby instantly killing the unit without allowing them saves.  And, after I’d rolled up so many of that skill on my Broodlords, I figured I could goof off a bit with my Zoanthropes.

Well, it turns out, it wasn’t as brilliant a move as I’d thought.  During the game, Cole informed me that a unit couldn’t be negatively impacted by multiple copies of the same malediction (though the only thing I can see that would support his argument says:

“Note that bonuses and penalties from different maledictions are always cumulative.”  (pg68)

Reading that, a reader might infer that “bonuses or penalties from the same malediction are not always cumulative,” but it doesn’t state that they’re never cumulative.  I’d be interested to find out what Cole saw that I’m missing.

That aside, the continuation of that same sentence does prevent me from outright killing with Enfeeble:

“…but cannot, unless otherwise stated, take a characteristic above 10 or below 1.”

So, units can’t be killed outright by multiple copies of Enfeeble (or any malediction really), but I don’t see where I can’t really stack them.

Whatever the ruling comes out, my strategy was fundamentally flawed; but it turns out that Enfeeble is so good that it doesn’t matter that much.  I still threw out many copies of it in the game, and killed models in drove because of it.  I threw a copy of it on a swarm of scarabs and then hit them with a Tervigon’s Cluster Spines, instant killing multiple bases with every wound I did (since they were reduced to toughness2, and were susceptable to blasts, due to the “Swarms” special rule).  Heck, even Termagants were instant killing them with fleshborers.

My thoughts on the other powers we’d gotten:

  • Endurance – (giving out Feel no Pain to more units is a good thing–I had two tervigons a zoanthrope and a broodlord that could throw out Endurance or basic FNP, and Tony had a Tervigon, and the Swarmlord that could do the same.  Spreading out FNP to six units a turn wound up being very valuable to us.
  • Iron Arm – This was fantastic, but it turns out I positioned my models with it poorly, but the thought of having a T9 Swarmlord running around the table was outright terrifying to our little metal opponents.
  • Hemmorage – Garbage.  The power is cute at best anyway, since most models are T4, you’ll have a 33% to kill a single model.  Sure it then hops and you *could* kill an entire unit, but it’s really not going to happen.  The biggest problem is that it’s only a 12″ range.  I tried to cast it once, but then noticed that abysmal range.  For the rest of the game, anyone who had this only cast their other power instead.
  • Warp Speed – I never bothered to cast this until I was actually in h2h, and the only model with it that ever got to an assault failed his Perils and took a wound.  In short, I never saw it in action, but it seemed reasonable.
  • Objuration Mechanicum – Seemed fantastic.  It sniped a crescent Necron spaceship thingy out of the air as it doesn’t need to roll to hit (can you tell I don’t know the Necron units?).  Well, it actually just caused the flyer to have to re-roll 6’s and take a glancing hit, but that shut that flyer down for the next turn.
  • Lifeleech/Psychic Shriek – Meh.  Again, I didn’t use either the entire game.  Both seem somewhat good, but neither is overpowered.

My overall thoughts on Psychic powers:  They’re pretty powerful, and go a long way to improving the viability of Tyranids.  The fact that everyone gets different powers and you have to keep track of who has which powers, who’s used a power in this turn, and if they use a persistent power, you need to track who is affected (and in some cases, what that effect is).  It’s a fiddly system as it is, but when you throw fifteen psykers into the mix, it gets to be cumbersome.

Overall, we had a strategy using bottlecaps to mark targets affected by various abilities:

  • Iron Arm was an upside down cap with a die indicating the amount of increased strength/toughness for the turn.
  • It Will Not Die was marked with red bottle caps
  • Feel No Pain (generic version) was marked with blue bottle caps

I think we just remembered inherently which units were enfeebled, and since it never actually succeeded, warp speed didn’t need to be marked by anything, but I practically should’ve had a means to mark those as well. 

My opponents did express some displeasure in the fact that they had no idea what was going on with it came to psychic abilities, and they weren’t sure that I did either.  Granted, it was a bit overwhelming, but I had a few things working on my side:

  • Virtually all of my models only had a single power that I considered to be worth using (Enfeeble, Iron Arm, Endurance, and to a lesser extent Warp Speed). 
  • Psychic powers were generally divided.  If my unit was in combat (or intended to be that turn), I might use Iron Arm or Warp Speed, otherwise, the obvious choice was to use It Will Not Die or Enfeeble. 

The only models that left me with any decisions to make were the Green Broodlord (who had both Enfeeble and Endurance) and the Blue Zoanthrope (Endurance & Objuration Mechanicum).  In the case of the Green Broodlord, he wound up pushed back too far from the enemy almost the entire game, so didn’t get a chance to enfeeble things.  The Blue Zoanthrope might have wound up cheating though, as I suspect he used his Endurance on our final turn, and shot with Objuration Mechanicum as well.

Ultimately, the use of Warp Charge tokens seems fiddly an unnecessary, but there was at least one time when it would’ve proven valuable in our game.   In the end, if I was to run anything like this list again, I’d have to make it very clear which units had which powers, and have obvious tokens to indicate warp charges, and all of the available powers. 

Wound Allocation:

This one reached out and bit me once (well, twice in one shooting phase), but didn’t seem to play very much into our game.  Tyranids have very few units that include anything more than a bunch of the exact same models, so the general affect of pulling models off the front in shooting only serves to make us slightly farther from the enemy.  Exceptions would be with Tyrant Guard & Broodlords.

I got burned by the new rules when it came down to my Broodlords on the 2nd turn (or maybe it was the first turn) of the game.  Either way, it was because I’d put both Broodlords deliberately in the front of my units.  I’d seen Tony and Cole do this in earlier games to great effect:  You put a powerful, hard to kill character in the front of the unit and absorb all of the shots/Look out Sir anything that was too terrifying.  My problem here was two fold:

  • Look Out Sir only works on a 4+ for Broodlords because they’re not IC’s.  4+ isn’t a very good save against particularly nasty weapons.
  • (this is the big one)  “Hard to kill” in this instance has nothing to do with toughness.  This is only to do with armor.  Because you roll to wound against the entire unit, and then take armor saves against the closest model first, it was a huge mistake to put my Iron Arm broodlords up front.  Despite having toughness 7 & 8, the enemy was rolling to wound them as if they’d had Toughness 4 (the majority toughness of the squad).  One Broodlord died horrendously, as he was the also the only one that wasn’t in cover (s’what I get for letting Tony move those models!).  I must admit, I was definitely soured by the whole experience.  The flip side of it is that my dice were crazy hot when rolling saves on the yellow squad.  I believe I had to put up 15x 4+ saves on the Broodlord (with a backup 5+ FNP), and made every single one of them. 

This also came into play with the Swarmlord/Hive Tyrant to a lesser degree.  One thing Cole brought up about the Swarmlord is that it’s a mistake to use more than one Tyrant Guard with him, due to the propensity of him getting Iron Arm, and the majority toughness rules for wound allocation.  Interesting point…

Necrons:

This was also my first time playing against the Necron codex (outside of Apoc, which is too hard to figure out exactly what’s going on anyway), so I figured I’d put a blurb about my thoughts on them as well.  Keep in mind that much of their power seems to come from their ability to obliterate vehicles (our opponents had “the Traveller” which didn’t do much in our game, but apparently he would’ve commandeered our vehicles).  Since we had Tyranids, we weren’t affected by those.

  • Characters – They seem fairly nuts in combat.  In particular, I’m talking about Destroyer lords.  I believe he was toughness 6 , strength 7, with a 2+ armor save, and a 2+ Look out Sir, plus he (and his squad) rerolled all 1’s to hit/wound.  The dude was pretty much a beast.  Granted, by the end, he seemed to be falling under weight of attacks, but he was pretty nutsy. 
  • Rerolls – I wasn’t fully aware of what was giving them re-rolls, but they were very plentiful in the entire force.  The Destroyer lord giving out “preferred enemy – EVERYTHING,” their Triarch Stalker which gave everything twin-linked vs. specific targets, etc.  It seemed like they were doing a lot of re-rolling, which made for some very effective/nasty attacks.
  • Deathmarks – Ouch.  They can nominate a unit in the game that allows ALL deathmarks to wound that unit on 2’s.  Ultimately, this is how they wound up killing off the Swarmlord. 
  • Will be Back – God, I hate this rule.  It’s good that it isn’t on a 4+ now, but the fact that they get to do it against every attack, and they can do it at the end of every phase is annoying.  Plus they don’t stand up where they died, but anywhere in squad coherency, which allows them to move their units around during almost any phase of either players turn.
  • Flyers – For the record, I’ve always hated flyers in Apoc, so there’s no reason for me to change that now.  They’re too durable (requiring 6’s to hit, immune to blasts, etc.), and they seem really powerful/undercosted in a lot of examples.  The Necron “moons of doom” are no exception.  They had some underslung guns that did reasonable amounts of damage, but then would arc off to all nearby units on rolls of a 6.  Since we were so packed in, this was tremendously effective in at least one shooting phase.  It also has some magic line of doom that doesn’t roll to hit, and zaps the crap out of everything with S10 AP1. 
  • Abnormally tough vehicles – Everything seemed to have 1 more HP than it should have.  Their little version of a character in a landspeeder (er.. chariot) has 3HP?  Arcs all have 4?  Seems odd—but I guess it’s because their metal is better than everyone elses?
  • Weak – With all of the powerful things they have, they did have some weaknesses – Seeming lack of ability to hold up in assault (they still suffer from low initiative for break-off in assaults).

They’re definitely a shooty army, and they seem to fold relatively easily to combat (except for the Wraiths/Destroyer Lord that I was stuck in with).  My ultimate opinion is that they’re probably ok.  The only parts that I absolutely hate are WBB and flyers (though that’s not necron specific—I hate flyers in general).

What I Learned:

  1. I’m going to miss Tony.  He’s a great guy, and Idaho is lucky to have him.  Enjoy your corn, foo.
  2. Double FoC helps ‘nids tremendously.  I’m sure it helps all armies alot, but Nidz were so top-heavy in Elites, I’m willing to wager that they become proportionately better than most codicies because of this.
  3. Psychic abilities are great, but I need to work on stacking rules, and find ways to make them more efficient if I’m going to try this many again.
  4. Wound allocation is going to take some time for me to learn.  This is particularly true in shooting, where you have to determine which model is closest each time and whether or not that specific model has cover (and what kind).  I’m sure it’ll grow on me, but for now, I’m bewildered.
  5. Flyers are crazy tough.  I hate them.
  6. Challenges:  I already knew that Mounstrous Creatures can’t participate in a challenge, but that doesn’t give the ‘Nid book much chance to participate (um… Swarm lord/Tyrant w/ guard, Parasite, Brood Lords, & Alpha Warriors).  It would seem nifty/fluffy if the MC’s could accept challenges, but alas…
20 comments on “My First 6th Edition Game & A Farewell to Tony

  1. twas a good time, i’d wager banter was easily our biggest time sink lol

    my list is almost right (don’t really care if u update it) i had 15 warriors, 9 warriors for those two units. The 9 had a ghost ark. 5 wraiths 3 with whip coils, and 2 Annihilation barges. Royal court is Nemesors, Dlords can’t take em.

    As far as the psychic power stacking, what is the point of the phrase you brought up if you are assuming they do stack? You could argue its a case of “it doesn’t say i can’t” but the statement allowing different powers to stack adds evidence to the otherside and would be pointless if stacking was inherently allowed.

    This has plenty of effect beyond nids, hammerhand being the prime example i go straight to.

    We may have also done the deny the witch wrong for blasts, after re-reading it the psychic power doesn’t resolve if it’s denied by the targeted unit. This means the dooms blast or really any blast/line/ect can only be denied by the unit initially targeted, but if it’s denied it doesn’t resolve at all and thus no other units are hit. The only problem here then would be powers that target all units in an area….most of which aren’t so powerful that you would think they need multiple chances to be denied by every unit in that area….

    I think like transports GW needs a bit of FAQ cleanup in psychic powers…

    • The stacking issue is weirdly worded without a counterpart indeed. It could mean, as you’re interpretting that the inverse never stack (ie. that multiple copies of the same one don’t ever stack), or that some powers will not stack with themselves. It doesn’t clearly state. I agree that based upon the RAW, your RAI is more logical than the inverse, but the inverse has a valid argument. Even though there are no powers (that I’m aware of) that explicitly state that they don’t stack with multiple copies of themselves, there are also similar weirdly worded sections of the rulebook that are wide-open–case in point: flakk missiles. Perhaps they put such a weirdly worded rule regarding psychic powers for future expansion?

      I’m not sure, but if RAW is clear, and the RAI isn’t, I’d more likely side with the RAW. Of course, I don’t particularly care–I’d sooner play everything at a disadvantage for myself, then any FAQ that changes thing can only be better.

      Unsure of the psychic power rules. We did the multiple squads testing deny each time based upon something Tony read to us. The bold section (p68) reads:

      “To deny the witch, the target’s controlling player rolls a d6. If the roll is a 6, then the psychic power’s effect ON THAT UNIT is nullified–on any other result, the power is resolved ON THAT UNIT as normal.” (emphasis mine)

      One could argue that secondary units hit by blasts, aren’t specifically targeted (as they’re not under the center of the marker), and therefore can’t DTW. I think that’s schmucky RAW at best (and I’m sure it has a hole in it). But it seems pretty clear that each unit would save seperately and only deny the effect on themselves.

      Or are you reading something else that contradicts that?

      • i believe the exception proves the rule, if you are told your allowed to stack different spells, it holds then that you would not be allowed to stack the same because otherwise the word “different” would be unneeded before.

        As far as Deny the witch its simple order of operations.
        Choose psychic spell to cast-> check/range/los to target -> remove warp charge -> roll psychic test -> if successful targeted enemy unit rolls deny the witch -> if DtW fails resolve power.

        The key here is that it very clearly says if deny the witch is passed the spell is not resolved. There is no blast/line/whatever until it resolves it’s effects. So like in the Doom’s blasts case, he declares his target unit, you’ve checked range already ect. He rolls his psychic test, passes, the unit he targeted rolls their DtW save, if it’s made nothing further happens including no wounds to doom for casting it. If it’s failed you resolve the blast, no other unit gets to DtW against it.

      • Help me out here, are you reading some rule that I’m not seeing? You say “it very clearly says if deny the witch is passed the spell is not resolved.” The actual rule states: To deny the witch, the targets controlling player rolls a d6. If the roll is a 6, then the psychic powers effect ON THAT UNIT is nullifiedon any other result, the power is resolved ON THAT UNIT as normal. (emphasis mine)

        There’s a significant difference between “the spell is not resolved” and “the psychic power’s effect on that unit is nullified.” I’d say that your interpretation is usually quite accurate, so I’m having a hard time understanding how you can be so far off this time. There just has to be something else you’re seeing that I’ve overlooked.

      • pg 67 states:

        1. Expend Warp Charge, reduce the psyker’s warp charge.
        2. Declare Target, if the psychic power requires a target, choose it now.
        3. Take a psychic test, (long bit u get it)
        4. Deny the Witch, If the Psychic test was passed and the target was an enemy, it now gets a chance to Deny the witch and nullify the power. If the power is nullified the attempt fails and nothing further happens.
        5. Resolve the psychic power, assuming that the psychic test was passed and the power was not nullified by a Deny the Witch roll, it is now resolved.

        pg 68 states:

        if a psychic power is targeted on an enemy unit, and the psychic test is passed, the target can attempt to deny the witch before the psychic power is resolved.

        if a psychic power targets two or more units, each affected unit can attempt to deny the witch-only those that fail will suffer the effects of the psychic power.

        Assuming that the psychic test was passed and the enemy did not nullify it through a successful Deny the Witch roll, you can now resolve the psychic power according to instructions in it’s entry. Unless otherwise stated, the effects of multiple different psychic powers are cumulative.

        end quoting..

        So in the case of the doom he’s firing at a unit, he must target that unit like normal. That unit rolls their DtW, if they fail it can then scatter and hit others but it didnt target them so they don’t get their own DtW. However if the intial target does DtW the power is never resolved and thus the blast doesn’t hit other models or scatter.

        It does give a little hand out to targeting bunches of units, as it receives it’s own exception in that each unit can DtW to become immune without causing the power to fail just because one unit DtW. But this only applies to powers specifically targeting multiple units.

      • I knew there had to be more you were referencing. I’d argue that Page 67 is just a sumary of the rules, and each one is broken into much clearer detail in the steps that follow. While it does say “the attempt fails and nothing further happens,” page 68 contradicts it by explicitly stating it just doesn’t affect that unit.

        Page 68 opens up a question about what it means to “target” units with a psychic power. I went back to page 33, to look up blasts and see what it means to target. It doesn’t use that word at all in the rules there, so one might say that blasts don’t target a unit at all (which I think is dumb). It seems more logical to say the blast targets each model touched by it, therefore allowing it to target multiple units.

        I can see your viewpoint now. I’m not convinced you’re right, but I’m certainly not convinced you’re outright wrong (like I was earlier). It’s kind of a weirdly worded set of rules.

      • Blast is a special rule. Your using it as part of a psychic power, which is resolved as a shooting attack and does require a target model. It also does say target model in the blast usr, “…with it’s hole over the target model…”

        If the attack has the USR blast, but we never get to the point of resolving it’s effects because it’s target DtW, the blast usr has no effect. We aren’t all of a sudden targeting all models touched by the blast, and we never get to the point of scattering the blast either as DtW takes place prior to resolving the effects of the power.

        if they errata it to replace targeted unit, with any unit effected by a psychic power may DtW then they would also have to faq in rules regarding scattering blasts ect. to be done before we roll DtW, ect. ect.

    • Tervigons can? That’s really interesting. I hadn’t thought to look them up–are they listed as characters?

  2. What a great looking battle. All those painted troops, on a nice table look really good. I know not everything was done, but enough were for it to look really fun.

    What on earth is going on with the spikey toilet roll on the necron barge?

  3. I think you’re being too harsh. He’s clearly a serious fluff player and has modelled the barge to be rising out of the ground where it’s been buried for millions of years with all sorts of debris and terrain features piled on top…

  4. Oh, by the way, those don’t look like normal trygons… Are they forgeworld?

    And another by the way, I’ve just emailed you re: some of your recent second hand buys…

    • They’re forgeworldy tails with slight mods and carnifex bodies. I called them tervifexes for a while, but once I dip my actual tervigon models, they’ll just be carnies again.

  5. Interesting… How did you end up with the forgeworld tails? I presume they’re not sold separately. Aren’t they a bit big to use as normal carnifexes? Aren’t you tempted to keep them as trygons – for use in apocalypse games, if nothing else?

  6. The community is definitely poorer for losing Tony. Bummer he’s got to go 😦

    Great BR, get George to paint some of his shit!

    • I was harping on George about that after this battle. “You know, George, I hear that you’re a great painter, but to date I’ve still never seen a single one of your painted models…”

      I think it’s all a farce.

Have something to add?

