Back to Basing

I know that I’m supposed to be working on my Adeptus Arbites unit (in my defense, I’m flighty, but I’ve at least gotten them primed!).  I am working on something else now (or three something elses).  I tend to get spun up on an idea, then drawn into tangent after tangent.  If I’m lucky, I can eventually align myself to acheive my original goals, but for now, my new milestone is to base my Imperial Guard force (well, at least those that I have painted so far).

The bulk of the bases you see in the pictures are of the 60mm variety, which should look alot like the original lot I’d done years ago for my heavy weapon teams.  Really, this shouldn’t come as much of a shock, as these are for the same purpose.  If you look closely, you can make out the little tripods where the weapons will be magnetized.

As for my method of basing–it’s nothing special.  I glue rocks and random bits to the bases, paint them up, then slop gravel/grass/leaves/snow on them until they look good (or until I’m at least happy with them).  I did a tutorial on these forest bases if you’d like to take a gander at it (keep in mind that the picture thumbnails in my old posts are currently broken, but if you click on the links, you’ll see the pics in their entirety).

So, I’m hoping to have these all done this week (the goal isn’t to finish just what you see, but probably about 100 more “plain” bases as well.  That way I have enough to base all of the models I’ve finished painting, and also the ones I haven’t yet begun…

 

 

 

4 comments on “Back to Basing

    • It’s really not bad. The only tricky part is for the cheap IG guys that have slotta bases. I’m guessing that I’ll have to do them up on the bases they’re already on–which means I’m going to slop rocks and grass on their fatigues. Hopefully it’s not going to be as painful as I suspect.

    • Actually, those are just place holders. The finished bases have gaping holes where I can just place standard infantry in them. This is a result of me playing since 2nd edition coupled with my laziness. When I’m done with a unit, I don’t want to have to reconfigure it in the next edition. Since heavy weapons were previously attached to two different models, and now they’re all lumped into a single figure with multiple wounds, this gives me flexibility should the rules change in the next edition. It also gives me the ability to mix up heavy weapons with each squad (without having to paint up extra guys), or to go completely without relatively easily.

      The irony is that a large reason for me doing it this was is to avoid potential work in new editions/codicies, but what I’m really doing is front-loading that work. Oh well, if I don’t have to go back and modify finished models, then I’m happy in the end. 🙂

Have something to add?

