Meeting Drathmere

Living in Alaska, there isn’t much chance to casually go out and meet fellow bloggers, so when I got word that I was going to have to travel again for work, I put out word, and waited to see if anyone had some time available.  Low and behold, Drathmere from 40k Hobbby Blog, had both the time and space to meet up and play a game.  I was quick to accept, and we loosely scheduled things.

Now, if his name sounds familiar, it’s probably because he was one of the contributors to the recent Storm Wardens Collaborative Army Build Charity Drawing.  He painted up and donated a land-raider crusader for the force (which looks great in the pictures, obviously I didn’t get to see it in person, since it was given away).  But I digress…

Drath's Custom Marine Chapter

As game day approached, I started debating the wisdom of my actions.  Do I really want to go to a stranger’s house, in a big, strange city to play army men?  This is the sort of thing you see on America’s Most Wanted, right?  To add to my dilemma, when I told the folks at work that he lived near the end of the blue line, they all warned me off of such a high-crime neighborhood.  I contemplated letting their fear get the best of me, but I’m glad I put their worries behind and went down to play a game.

It turns out that the neighborhood wasn’t bad at all.  On the contrary, it was quite nice.  He showed up and invited me in, and we quickly dove into his hobby room.  Immediately, I could tell that he was a kindred spirit: he too had been playing since before second edition, and had entirely too much money invested in GW’s plastic crack.  We had a good time reminiscing about classic rules and models, and I got to look through all of his armies in his display case, which all looked amazing.

Some Chaos & iGuard

When I saw the models, there was an instant familiarity with them.  I had seen them in his blog posts, and now seeing them in person, I almost felt like I was in the presence of some celebrity.  Instantly, I recognized the Trygon (and it’s blasphemous desecration of an Ultramarine rhino) and his ruined centaur (although I still didn’t know what it really was).  As silly as it sounds, it felt great to see models I’d envied online, and get to hold them in person.  Dorky, eh?  So, throughout this post, you’ll see some photos of the models I got to see.  Hopefully you can excuse the poor quality (I’d forgotten to take my camera, so all the pictures are courtesy of my iphone).  As always, you can click any of them to see a larger version.

Eventually, we stopped our jibber-jabba, and got down to a game.  But I’ll save that for another post.  The point of this post is to both praise him for being such a cool guy, and to encourage others to take a chance to welcome other gamers into their gaming groups–of course, to do so responsibly.  Now I’m not asking that everyone invite complete strangers to their house, but to invite fellow bloggers, or even new people you might see in your friendly local gaming store to a game, would be a great start.  It might lead to a great game, or a great friendship.

And if you’re coming to Alaska… look me up: I’d love to game.

2 comments on “Meeting Drathmere

  1. Cool post. I admire your adventurous spirit in finding new peeps to beat down (or get pummeled by, to my giggling delight). I look forward to reading the Battle Report!

Have something to add?

