Tyranid Pumpkin

Earlier this week, I alluded to conflicting plans my wife made which prevented me from attending a recent tournament.  Curious as to what superceded my urge to play 40k?

Kurbisschnitzen 2010

For the English speakers in the audience (such as myself), it translates to well… I’m not 100% sure.  Knowing the crowd I hang out with, and those crazy Germans, it probably translates into “Ghord Evisceration Day.”  You get the general gidst though, I had a date with a vegetable.

For the past five years, my friend Ryan has held this event at his house, and I dutifully show up and carve myself a pumpkin.  Well, to be technically correct, I’ve been spending my Kurbisschnitzens carving pumpkin-shaped styrofoam.  I really don’t like working with the medium, as it doesn’t light up as well, and it’s much harder to carve, but on the plus side, they keep significantly longer (ie. forever), and are considerably less messy.  Each year, I put out all of the pumpkins I’ve carved from years past in addition to the one I did this year.

Since none of my previous pumpkins are 40k related, I’m not going to bother posting them here (unless you want to see them)… but this year, I went and carved a Hormagaunt.

It’s not ideal, but I’m happy with it–especially since last year I tried to make an Ork, but had to convert it into a samurai zombie when it lost it’s orkiness.  Perhaps I’m just jaded, but I think it looks like a Tyranid… what do you think?

How about you guys: Are there any other 40k pumpkin carvers out there this year?

8 comments on “Tyranid Pumpkin

  1. I’m sorry, I can’t resist.

    Cue guitar intro…

    o/~ [high voice] Tyranid pumpkin! (Say it again) o/~
    o/~ [gravely voice] Tyranid pumpkin! (Say it again) o/~
    o/~ [squeeky voice] Tyranid pumpkin! (Say it again) o/~
    o/~ [girly voice] Tyranid pumpkin! (Say it again) o/~

    Ahem. We now return you to your regularly scheduled comments.

    • Very cool. I like the fact that you carved a glyph–I’m also fond of the
      way you carved it (ie. shaved the outside layer instead of cutting all of
      the way through).

      I’m actually quite surprised more gamers aren’t carving 40k related
      pumpkins. I mean, we’re painters and modellers, so you’d figure we’d be the
      creative sort, right?

  2. Pingback: Making Explosion Markers | Warhammer 39,9999

  3. Pingback: Happy Halloween – 2014 | Warhammer 39,9999

Have something to add?

