From Angel to Parasite

Puttied and painted, I present my Parasite of Mortrex.

For those of you who are wondering, the model is actually an Angelius from Privateer Press.  You can find it under the Legion of Everblight section of the game Hordes. 

What I like about it is, like the other “counts as” models I’ve been adapting, it just has a classic ‘nid look about it.  Between the armored spikes across the back, the striations on the wings, and the bony protrusions at the end of them, it seems to pass nicely for a Tyranid model.  The really serpentine features aren’t quite as classic, but I like them just the same.

Once painted up to match the rest of my force, I think it ties in seemlessly.  I suspect that the average person (who doesn’t already possess knowledge to the contrary) wouldn’t be able to pick him out of a line-up as a non-GW or non-Tyranid model.

Leader of the Swarm

Most likely I’ll be running him inside a squad of gargoyles, so I took the picture on the left as a size comparison.  I like that he doesn’t completely dominate them, so it’s plausible that he’d be able to hide in the unit.  At the same time, he’s imposing enough to stand out as a character unit. 

All in all, I’m most pleased with this model, of all of the Hordes models I’ve purchased.  In case you haven’t been following, the other models I’m using are the Raek, some Teraphs, and a Carnivean (who, is the one model I can’t recommend). 

So, for now, I’m adding him to the table of models that are awaiting staining, but that table is getting rather full…

One comment on “From Angel to Parasite

Have something to add?

