Status Update: Biovores & Brain Bugs

 

Not much to report here.  I’ve just been painting away on my Tyranids in order to meet my objectve of having my entire force painted and based by the end of the year.  I really should go through and tally up the models that have yet to be painted, but suffice it to say, there aren’t many.  Off the top of my head, I know I have a few dozen gaunts that are basecoated and just need cleaning up a bit, plus the Hordes models I’m using as counts as version of the new bugs.  Oh, and another Hierophant… though I’m sure there are other things I’m forgetting.

Of course, I have a slough of things that still need to be dipped as well, and nothing in the army has been properly based.  So, with just four months left in the year, I have my work cut out for me.  Hopefully I can achieve it, but realistically, I can be proud of what I accomplished so far whether or not I actually achieve that goal.

Anywho, this week, I painted my last three Zoanthropes (though I use the term “painted” loosely, since it’s really no more than a base-coat before dipping.  The end result comes out nice though, so I don’t mind.   I gave these guys the pink squad markings (my other squads having no marking, and blue, respectively).  That’s how I’ll distinguish them apart in the games.

The other models I wound up painting are my biovores.  You’ll note that I use the 3rd edition variants.  There are really a couple of reasons behind this, but it ultimately narrows down to the fact that these are the models I had available at the time, and I could tolerate the way they looked.  The gun on the newer model is cool looking, but I don’t care for the model as a whole.  The classic model is too squat and spindly for my likes, so I went with the gorillas.  Their monkey-like appearance isn’t great, but it’s better than the other choices available.

Red Armor?

Actually, I rather like the new Pyrovore model, and think that’d make a smashing “counts as” biovore, except it’s so frickin’ expensive, I can’t see why anyone would by one. 

But I digress.  As you can see, I deviated slightly from my normal paint scheme.  Whereas I normally paint all chitin bone-colored, I opted to paint these red (though, in hindsight, I can see I forgot to apply their final highlight… Oops, that will have to be fixed before I dip them).  Anywho, I chose red because I’ve started setting a new standard for weapon color as red in the army.  Since these guys are essentially living weapons, I tried to balance out the classic bone chitin and the red gun.  Really, I would’ve preferred to paint the shoulder-guards bone and the weapon casing itself red, but I didn’t feel like trying to free-hand that distinction… so, the whole carapace turned red as a result.

I think it will blend in just fine with the rest of the force.  What do you think?

Have something to add?

