New Years Resolutions? Status Update!

As of yesterday, we’re half way into the year, and it’s time to go back and look at my goals to see how they’re progressing.  At the start of the year, I created a New Years resolution post to set some hobby goals, which were:

  • Achieve 130 painting points (228 points so far!)
  •  Army specific Objectives
    • Base my entire Tyranid Swarm  (waiting to finish painting them all)
    • Sell off my Eldar force (non-Exodite) 
    • Sell off spare models I’ve collected that I have no intention of ever using (Terminators, Spare Chaos) 
  • Coordinate three Apocalypse games (including the recently passed Arctic Apocalypse 2010)  (2/3 down, one to go!)
  • Avoid starting any new armies.  Or, if I start a new army, do not use any new money to fund that army–using only what I’ve earned from above)  (none so far)
  • Blog related Objectives: 
    •  Create 100 blog posts for the year.  (104 so far!)
    • Inspire at least one of my friends to start a blog (or start posting on my blog) 
    • Get mentioned in the “Tuesday Top Ten” post on FTW at least three times  (1/3 so far)
    • Get linked to by more fellow bloggers–perhaps by holding contests? 
    • Create army specific pages for each of my established forces displaying the content of each. 
  • Avoid starting any MMO’s (they’re the devil) (good so far)

All in all, I’ve set 12 objectives for the year, five of which I’ve already completed.  Two more aren’t things that actually require action (rather, a lack of action on my part), and of the other five, three are already in progress.  I’m definitely on track to complete them before the end of the year.

Unfortunately, I can’t say the same about my professional goals.  I keep procrastinating on those, seeing as they’re considerably less fun than my hobby goals; however, since I’m doing so well on these, I should spend a couple of months focusing on those instead.  Hopefully I can whip up the nerve to do just that.

Wish me luck!

Outlook

“Skinny Dick’s” logo owned by the inn by the same name.

6 comments on “New Years Resolutions? Status Update!

  1. Looking good so far, mate. I have been keeping the missus happy by not smoking for the past 7 months, so we're in this together. I have to say though, its easier to not buy cigarettes than it is to not buy more miniatures! They are spot-on when they call it plastic crack. Of course, maybe its because of all the money I feel like I'm saving because I'm not smoking anymore… hmm….

      • Alright, I’ll admit I’ve relapsed. Between all the normal stress of being a stay-at-home dad with two toddlers and the recent extra stress, I gave in. I’m keeping it light, however. I have a corncob pipe I smoke once a day after the kids are in bed, to decompress the springs so to speak. It’s easier to keep from falling all the way back into the habit by changing the method up a bit.

      • Alright, I’ll admit I’ve relapsed. Between all the normal stress of being a stay-at-home dad with two toddlers and the recent extra stress, I gave in. I’m keeping it light, however. I have a corncob pipe I smoke once a day after the kids are in bed, to decompress the springs so to speak. It’s easier to keep from falling all the way back into the habit by changing the method up a bit.

      • It would’ve been amazing if you could’ve managed to stay clean after all the
        stress you’ve been through, but it’s still nothing to be ashamed of. It
        just gives you a good New Year’s resolution for 2011!

        As for the pipe, do you inhale with those, or is that mostly to taste the
        tobacco? I thought I read something last night about pipe smoking that
        insisted you didn’t inhale. If so, then it’s got to be healthier for you,
        right?

  2. Very cool. That kind of puts my goals to shame…Though my personal goals are developing rather well… it's my professionalgoals that I've been slacking on. Though I have managed to read twochapters of a technical manual today, so at least I'm recognizing thedeficiency and working to resolve it, right? :)Congrats on your accomplishment…

Have something to add?

