Paleontological Tyranids

When taking my gargoyles out to prime this week, I noticed something of archaeological significance. 

A few years back, I bought my wife a treadmill for… um.. I’m not sure what the occasion was.  The thought behind it was that we could save money on gym memberships if she just ran at home.  As to whether or not it proved a cost-effective solution, that’s still in the air (I still say no), but certainly the best thing that came out of that purchase was the box.  That box is my ultimate hobbying tool, akin to Shel Silverstein’s “The Giving Tree.” 

Measuring a good seven feet long, by four feet wide and two feet high, it’s a monster that dominates one half of my garage.  Thankfully, I wasn’t born with a gift for tools, or any interest in automotives at all, so I have little else to do in that room.  Since it first came home, it became the place for me to handle all of my primering, sealing, and spray painting.  Without a folding table, or sawhorses, it is the perfect substitute. 

It has also given up part of it’s insides that I’ve used as heavy-duty bases for my Tyranid Mycetic Spores, and as staging areas while I was dipping my force.  This box loves unconditionally, and asks nothing in return.

Over the years, layers upon layers of paint have been built up upon the sides of the box, and last night, when I staggered into the garage, I noticed a curious design.  Quickly I snatched up my camera and snapped a quick shot:

There is but one logical conclusion we can draw from this picture:  Tyranid-like creatures infested my garage thousands of years ago.   Evidenced by the cave paintings of multi-armed creatures swarming about, primative man must have been assaulted by this unholy swarm.  I can only assume that the same ice age that destroyed the dinosaurs decimated the alien race as well.

Anywho, I don’t have anything real to say during this post, except this was a pretty nifty picture of my priming station.  Also, if you have $1000 kicking around and you want an awesome box, I’d advise purchasing a fancy treadmill from Costo.  You just can’t beat it!

“The Giving Tree” artwork by Shel Silverstein.

6 comments on “Paleontological Tyranids

  1. Perhaps… just perhaps some still survive, scratching out the barest hint of a living in the darkest corner of your garge, waiting… watching… and growing stronger all they while, waiting only for you to drop your guard and then, oh, yes and then… they will strike…Watch out!

  2. Search for a mosquito encased in amber! Then all you got to do is harvest the tyranid DNA, grow your own tyranids, buy an island ,set up a theme park and sit back while the cash rolls in. Just don't invite Jeff Goldblum to preview the park, he's a worry wart.

  3. Perhaps… just perhaps some still survive, scratching out the barest hint of a living in the darkest corner of your garge, waiting… watching… and growing stronger all they while, waiting only for you to drop your guard and then, oh, yes and then… they will strike…Watch out!

  4. Search for a mosquito encased in amber! Then all you got to do is harvest the tyranid DNA, grow your own tyranids, buy an island ,set up a theme park and sit back while the cash rolls in. Just don't invite Jeff Goldblum to preview the park, he's a worry wart.

Have something to add?

