NKOTB: The Lost Chapter (Dinos in Spaaaaace!)

This months new kid is “The Lost Chapter,” which is also paranthetically titled “Dino Riders in Spaaace” a la the muppet adventures of spacebound swine.  And the 80’s band to simultaneously pay hommage to?  Well, that was an easy choice: Was (Not Was), who’s 80’s Anthem “Walk the Dinosaur” gave the world a case of the BOOM BOOM, LACKA LACKA BOOM’s!

Dino’s in space is a blog devoted to the Storm Dragons chapter, who appear to be a second-founding chapter based upon Geneseed from the Salamanders.  I say this because of their greenish armor and strong reptilian ties, but I can’t seem to find much fluff on the site to talk about where they came from.  I did, however, find this post on BoLS about a chapter by the same name.  Due to the different color scheme, I’m inclined to believe it was an entirely different chapter idea, but they could meld in quite nicely…

With or without fluff, his army is certainly oozing with character.  Every model is tied into the dinosaur theme, including scout bikers on cold ones, thunderfire cannons mounted on stegadons, and stegasaurus themed landspeeders (which haven’t yet made a blog post, but I’ve seen them elsewhere on the net).   

His conversions are fairly simple, basing many of his models off of Warhammer models (predominately those in the Lizardman range).  But these simple conversions really work wonders.  Tied in with a suitably simple (and striking) color scheme, his models define what it is to have character on the tabletop.  Of course, his free hand ability and eye for dynamic poses really help add to the style of the entire army. 

With my latent interest in starting an Exodite army, the cool conversions he’s doing with lizard models are providing untold inspiration.  I’ve already started on a squad of bikers, and I suspect my color scheme will include stripes like he has.  As they really make the models look like lizards, and not just some neon-painted models like many other players choose to go with.

One other great thing about this blog is that it seems to be our only window into another gaming group.  Sometimes you’ll get a group of suitably inspired gamers who all start their own blogs to make an only community, and in others you’ll only get one viewpoint of a particular group.  This is one of those times.  What makes this great is that you get tiny glimpses into the models of other players in the area, and undoubtedly, there’s a bunch of talent nearby.   These include an interesting take on IG Sentinels, and a spectacular looking Iron Warriors force.

   

So, go check out his blog and steal some of his great ideas.  I know I will!

Last Month’s NKOTB: Chaos Squats of Khorne

Last month’s new kid, Hungry Ghost, has been churning out more midgetized malign in the form of chaos squats.  He’s finished a full squad of Hearthguard, and a bunch of bikers (including a couple of trikes!) to be used as rough riders.  My personal favorite is  Vox Corporal Galil Lankhester, who was “blessed” with the bill of a stork.  These sort of crazy conversions are exactly what GW had in mind back in the days of the Chaos Squats.  Since his army is chalk full of old-school models, it’s nearly impossible to guess which of these are standard GW models and which have been butchered by Hungry Ghost himself.

Another thing to keep an eye on is his “Coming Attractions” section.  Today the teaser says simply: “Spider-Squat, Spider-Squat, does whatever a Spider-Squat does.”   Again, I encourage you to check out his page, and read through the posts (it’s worth it), but if you happen to be in his area, definitely round up a game with him, as I’m quite certain it’ll be one of the funnest games of your life.

Was (Not Was) image owned by the band of the same name.  All other pictures from The Lost Chapter blog.

7 comments on “NKOTB: The Lost Chapter (Dinos in Spaaaaace!)

  1. I'm just glad there are so many great blogs out there. :). Most ofthese, I just find over at rons blog, from the warp. I know I'm farfrom being hugely successful, but this is just my way to divert amodest amount of traffic to these startup blogs.Thanks again for commenting. 🙂

  2. I was browsing the BolS blogroll when I found my blog mentioned here, thanks very much for your kind words!I'll be sure to post up some army background! (the BolS army is indeed by a different person)

  3. I was browsing the BolS blogroll when I found my blog mentioned here, thanks very much for your kind words!I'll be sure to post up some army background! (the BolS army is indeed by a different person)

  4. No worries. I hope the post helped send a little traffic to your site.Sorry about the delayed response. I was out of town last week, but I dosee that you made a post about the background fluff for your army. Lookingforward to reading it. 🙂

  5. No worries. I hope the post helped send a little traffic to your site.Sorry about the delayed response. I was out of town last week, but I dosee that you made a post about the background fluff for your army. Lookingforward to reading it. 🙂

Have something to add?

