I Collect Spores, Molds, & Funguses

When I think back to Ghostbusters, there are many lines that stick in my memory.  Of them all, Egon’s line “I collect spores, molds, & funguses” sticks out best (well, that or “I’m Vince, Vince Klorthos, keymaster of Gozer.  Are you the gatekeeper?”).

I suspect it stands out so much because I was always taught that the plural of fungus was fungi.  Funguses just sounds wrong.

That aside, there are a fair amount of parallels between Egon Spengler and the hobbying community at large, not the least of which being that we’re all pretty much nerds.  Aside from general nerd-like tendancies, I too find myself collecting spores (though I haven’t yet graduated to include molds and funguses, but then again, my bachelor days are over, so that may never happen…).

But on to the spores!  I’ve always liked the idea of raining sacks of biotoxins down upon my enemies…

Err… if anyone from the Department of Homeland Security reads that last sentence, keep in mind that it’s within the context of playing a futuristic table-top game where I assume the role of a conquering alien race… mmkay?

Back on topic: spore mines are just cool, for reasons I stated in my Tyranid unit review.  Are they practical for a competitive army?  Probably not, but they do add a lot of flavor to a game.  There’s just something about seeing 40+ spores dropping down to set the tone of a game.  Unfortunately, they’re rather pricey, coming it at almost $2 a pop from GW.   Otherwise, I’d have 100 of them and start of every Apoc game by blanketing the board!

I was fortunate enough to pick up a bunch of the plastic Tyranids from the Battle for McCragge boxed sets when they were out though, so I do have 40 spore mines up my sleeve.  Since I haven’t been doing a great job of keeping up with the hobby, I thought I’d dust these off and pull out an easy win for painting points. 

They’re “done” quite easily with just an Ultramarines Blue basecoat, and various parts picked out in Tentacle Pink & Bleached Bone.  That way they blend in well enough with the rest of my force, but the pink seems to highlight their fragility.

Granted, they haven’t been dipped, but I’m waiting until I have “enough” to make dipping worthwhile.  Right now I have 3 raveners, a couple dozen steelers, and 20 gargoyles waiting in the wings.  I figure once I paint up some Tyrants, Trygons, and maybe my warriors, I’ll get another round of dipping going.

Soon, my precious…

Egon Picture from wikipedia.com.

9 comments on “I Collect Spores, Molds, & Funguses

  1. Ah, man, I should really watch that film again.I think I saw it when I was about 9. It was my birthday, we rented the video, and I watched it with my parents and brothers. All of us with our 'light and sound' proton packs aimed at the tv… (Actually, my parents didn't have proton packs.)But I think a lot of the writing went over my head. This film you're describing sounds really funny!

  2. Ah, man, I should really watch that film again.I think I saw it when I was about 9. It was my birthday, we rented the video, and I watched it with my parents and brothers. All of us with our 'light and sound' proton packs aimed at the tv… (Actually, my parents didn't have proton packs.)But I think a lot of the writing went over my head. This film you're describing sounds really funny!

Have something to add?

