My Flying Hive Tyrant

[singlepic id=53 w=320 h=240 float=right]Some prefer to call them “Flyrants” (which has a nice ring to it, but for simplicity’s sake, I’m just refering to him as a flying Hive Tyrant).  I crafted this guy a couple of years back after seeing the idea online.  It’s been too long for me to remember where I stole the idea from, but I’m sure it’s common enough around the net anymore. 

The model is based exclusively around the OOP Metal Lord of the Rings “Fell Beast” model, and a 2nd Edition Hive Tyrant.  Neither of these is available anymore, but I don’t see why a little creativity and their replacements couldn’t work to come up with a similar (if not superior) solution.  The Hive Tyrant is still around, albeit in a slightly prettier form, and the Fell Beast has been replaced by GW’s plastic Winged Nazgul (link to GW product page here, while it lasts).  Of course, you’ll have to  take into consideration that the new model will leave you with a plastic body and a metal upper-half, so you’ll have to work up a solution to keep it from being too top-heavy.

That aside, I wanted to just go into a smidge of how I made the model.  There’s nothing complex here.  I simply assembled the upper half of the Tyrant and pinned it to the LoTR model’s body.  Then, I haphazardly puttied up the crack.  The only other conversions I did were to saw the lower half of the Tyrant’s face off, and replace it with the beast’s jaws (much more dynamic looking) and placed a couple of armored plates where the wings met the body.

[singlepic id=55 w=320 h=240 float=left]In 4th edition, I ran him as a flying  tyrant with scything talons, and warp field.  He was always lacking a gun, so he’d fly up front to provide synapse, and hope that he lived through the incoming barrages to make it to hand-to-hand.  Many games, he didn’t make it (my theory is, the cooler looking the model is, the quicker all opponents belive it has to die).  I really wanted to give him Warp blast, or a venom cannon, but his glued on claws made that difficult to play WYSIWYG (since I was essentially required to take “Warp Field”).  With the new 5th edition codex out, and me going to town on magnetizing my other selections, I figured it was time to break off his arms and breathe new life into him. 

Not that I bothered to take pictures of him with any other arm variants, mind you.  Doing so, would mean you’d see him with unpainted arms.  Suffice it to say, He’s magnetized identically to my Tervigons/Carnifexes, Trygons/Mawlocs, and other Hive Tyrant, so he can run with any arm variation I have now.   I suspect he’ll most often be run with Bone Sword, Lashwhip, & Heavy Venom Cannon in the future, but since I haven’t actually played a game with him in 5th, I’d say it’s too early to tell.  I’ll be sure to update my Hive Tyrant Assesment when I figure it out.

Like all of my ‘Nids, his base isn’t done.  I’m waiting to completely paint the army before I work on their bases; that was one of my New Year’s resolutions.

More pics of this guy can be found in the gallery photos below:

[nggallery id=9]

3 comments on “My Flying Hive Tyrant

Have something to add?

