I Want to See You Fail

Not long ago, there was a fellow blogger who had an idea on how to make craters utilizing Gorilla glue, wax paper, and styrofoam.  I took an interest in this topic because I fancy using Trygons in my Tyranid force, and wanted a suitable marker to show where he had erupted from, and I don’t particularly care to pay an exorbitant amount for GW’s plastic version. 

That night, I found myself down at the local hardware store and I just happened by the adhesive aisle.  Naturally, my eyes wandered over to the Gorilla glue, and I debated whether or not to pick some up.  Doing so was a risk, because I hadn’t seen the final results from the blog post.  If they turned out horrible, purchasing the glue was a waste of time (and $8), but if they turned out great, I’d have to make another trip down to the store just for the glue (ignore for a moment that I could simply wait until I had to go there for another reason).  Was it worth the risk?   For some reason, I decided to pass on it…

Anyway, the blog post was one of those two-parters, where the project starts one day, cures over night and has a follow-up the next day to show how things went.

Only there was never a “next day” follow-up.  In fact, not long after that, the original post mysteriously disappeared as well!  Since I was particularly interested in the topic, I emailed the blog owner to find out what happened.  His response:

“It was a project failure.”

I was dumbfounded by the response.  I was expecting to find out that the server hiccupped and deleted the post, or some other software related failure.  It had never occurred to me that he would’ve removed the post of his own volition. 

My blog is a way to share my hobby with the community as a whole.  Sometimes, this means I get to show off a project that come out exceedingly well (at least by my standards) or flaunt a game where I came up with a spiffy tactic to use to a strategic advantage.  Other times though, I fail miserably.  Sometimes it’s because I lose a game to a strategic blunder, come up with a lousy paint scheme, or otherwise mess up.  Either way, I wind up posting my experiences to my blog.  This serves a few purposes:

  1. Successes help boost my confidence, and fill my blog with pretty pictures and neat ideas.
  2. Failures help keep me humble, and inspire me to keep trying.
  3. Either way, hopefully others can stop by and learn from my successes and my failures, of what to do and what not to do.   

The idea of removing a post that I worked hard on to create is completely foreign to me.  Whether or not a project comes out the way I’d planned, I’ll post the results.   And I hope you’ll do the same.  Perhaps by posting our failures, we can not only save fellow gamers a few extra bucks, but we might get suggestions from others on how to turn that very failure into a success. 

So, I encourage everyone to fail, and to share those failures with everyone.  The fact is, no project is ever a complete failure and, as long as we don’t give up, they all help build towards future successes.  Please take what you’ve learned and share with others to build a better community as a whole.  I know I will.

DISCLAIMER: This post is not intended to insult anyone, but hopefully inspire some open collaboration within the community.  I don’t dislike the “Gorilla Glue” blog owner at all–in fact, I quite appreciate that blog.  Again, I mean no offense.

“Failure” image taken from Funnypart.com.

5 comments on “I Want to See You Fail

  1. lol, well my abysmal attempt @ a battle report was posted, and while I labeled it as an 'epic fail' I did receive quite a lot of tips and advice for the next time that I give it a try (haven't really yet aside from a little 600 point skirmish). I agree with your ideas in regards to posting, but remember there aren't really any hard & fast rules in the blogosphere (that's a word right?). Its more a case of 'to each his/her own'.

  2. Oh, most certainly. I'm just trying to illustrate to people that might beafraid of looking uncool by posting failures that we can all learn from eachother's mistakes. I barely glossed over the benefits you get in advicethough. In my experience, people are generally willing to help youimprove–as in the case of your “epic fail” post.I'm eagerly awaiting my next dismal failure, myself. 🙂

  3. I agree. Failures are important, mostly because of your third point – that you (and all your readers) can learn from it.

  4. Failures are the scientific method in progress! If it weren't for knowing what didn't work, we'd never figure out what did. I share the same attitude that you have: please share so that we can learn.

  5. I just wanted to say thank you for posting this. Not only do I agree with the sentiment, but I was also wondering what had happened with the experiment.

Have something to add?

