Preparing For Annihilation: Arctic Apocalypse 2010

Tomorrow will be our first Apoc game of the year (my second Apoc battle ever).  Is it sad that I’m more anxious about this than I was about Christmas?

I spent last night setting up the tables and finishing up some of the ‘Nid flavored terrain pieces.   The board we’ll be playing on is pictured below (click below for an expanded shot):

 

Unfortunately, the newly painted Tyranid terrain has yet to dry completely, so it didn’t make the picture–but it’ll be ready for the actual game.  I’m posting the pics and some basic rules (see below) for a couple of reasons.  First of all, we’re using my blog to coordinate some of the information (such as the general rules, for the impending Arctic Apocalypse), as well as the fact that I want to make things as even as possible.  Since I’m setting up the terrain a day ahead of time, I want my opponents to be able to see the board they’ll be playing on in advance as well.  Likewise, I figured it would be best to agree on terrain rules prior to the game starting… to make for a smoother and more enjoyable game.

Additionally, I’m posting these online because I’m curious to see how preparation for our game compares to other Apoc games.  Are we overthinking things?  Oversimplifying?  Anyone else have any great ideas as to what could make an Apoc game better?  If so, please leave a comment.  I’m all ears.  Granted, it’s a little late for this game, but we can always take it into consideration for our next bash.

Ok, without further adieu, below are my suggestions on how we handle the board/deployment/terrain.  Everything is negotiable.

For ease of memory, I suggest the following general rules will apply to terrain:

  • All Cover is on the board grants a default 4+ cover save
  • All green area counts as grass (clear terrain)
    • Trees in the green areas are incidental trees (not area terrain), which block LoS as normal, and are difficult terrain to move through
    • Hills (slopes) 1” high (or less—sloped or otherwise) count as clear terrain and do not take extra movement to scale.
    • Hills (slopes) greater than 1” high count as difficult terrain when going up or down them, but otherwise follow normal terrain rules while atop of them (eg. The tops of most green hills are clear terrain).
    • All non-green area counts as area terrain
      • All white area counts as light snow (semi-difficult terrain, rolling an extra die for movement), with no cover granted
      • All brown areas (and GW forests) count as difficult terrain (woods) with cover
      • All Tyranid spores count as area terrain (cover granted while inside them)

For board purposes, I suggest the following rules apply to deployment:

  • Standard Apoc deployment rules will be over-rided for the purposes of the game.  Due to the way terrain was laid out, the likelihood of splitting the board into one side of nothing but difficult terrain and the other clear terrain is too high.  For this reason, setup will be 12″ deployment from either of the “long board edges.”  Board edges on the L shaped board will be as follows (or see graphic below):
    • “Short Board Edge” means either edge of the board that is 4′ in length (the top of the L, and the far-right side).
    • “Long Board Edge” means anything that isn’t a short board edge.  This means that each deployment zone will be an L, and one side will have more deployment area than the other–it also means that one side will have a larger deployment zone.  Cover and difficult terrain have been taken account to try to  balance the zones.

Additionally, just as a refresher, the following are the cover rules in 40k:

  • True LoS rules are in place.  If you can see the head, torso, arms, or legs of the opposing model, you can fire at it.
  • If ANY part of the target’s body is obscured from the firer, it counts as having cover.
  • Target models whose bases are at least partially inside area terrain are in cover
  • Target models behind area terrain only count as in cover if they’re between two elements inside that area terrain (page 22 rulebook)
  • No (cover) save may be greater than 2+

Anyone see any problems with these rules as suggested?  Anyone have anything else to add? 

If not, I’ll see you on the battlefield tomorrow! (and for those that won’t be in attendance, the battle report will be following before too long)

13 comments on “Preparing For Annihilation: Arctic Apocalypse 2010

  1. Mmm… looks like it's shaping up quite nicely. It's good to have the rules and terrain out for everyone to see before the game too.About the only thing I would have done differently? Placed the end table to form a 'T' rather than an 'L'. That would give both sides equal terrain and deployment sizes. The 'L' is going to favor defenders on the inside and fast moving attack units (or extreme range units) on the outside. Still, this should work and I'm interested to see how it goes…

    • You know, I set it up this way at first, but due to the furniture layout, it was a bit harder to get around the edges of the table This just worked out better for the size of the room. Otherwise, I’d have gone with a more symmetrical layout.

      But really, if what you say is true, it would work out well as we have one force that’s fast moving assaulters and another which (presumably) is the dug-in defender type. We shall see though…

  2. You know, I set it up this way at first, but due to the furniture layout, it was a bit harder to get around the edges of the table This just worked out better for the size of the room. Otherwise, I'd have gone with a more symmetrical layout.But really, if what you say is true, it would work out well as we have one force that's fast moving assaulters and another which (presumably) is the dug-in defender type. We shall see though…

  3. I think this layout is awesome. I'm good with all the rules too, since that's what we use when you and I throw-down anyways. I wanted to thank you for hosting this event at your house and inviting me. It's going to be tons of fun. I think I agree with you, I'm more anxious about tomorrow than I was for Christmas! Let me know if there is anything I can bring tomorrow; drinks, snacks, plates, etc. Peace.

  4. I need to amend my post. I have a question about the “semi-difficult terrain” a.k.a. snow. For deepstriking purposes is it normal or do deepstrikers have to take a dangerous terrain test if they land in it?

  5. I think you've got the right amount of planning for things – I had a game where the table layout was just about as different to what was expected on the day. Prettymuch stuffed the whole gameplan for my team.Nice looking board, themed battles are always the best.

  6. Hey, I've finally posted here! Looks like it'll be fun, can't wait for the full batrep to be up, and since I play tau… well I can't particularily root for either team… but, just kill each other well!

Have something to add?

