iBlog

In tooling around my Google Analytics account, I noticed a button I’d never seen before: I can track visits to my site by iPhone users.  Jeepers, has this world gone iCrazy?!

So, out of curiousity, I clicked the link and found that I actually have people visiting my site through their iPhones.  Granted, it’s only a trickle of traffic, but it’s there!  Want proof?

Yeah, I didn’t believe it myself, but apparently I’ve had as many as two iphones visiting my site in a single day.  Can you believe that?  It’s practically an epidemic!  Digging further, iPhone users seem to view more pages on average than other viewers of my blog.  That said, I figured I’d see if I couldn’t do a little extra to thank them for dropping by.

So, I turned to my ever-present friend, Google, and asked what he had to say about things (yes, Google is a man, in case you didn’t know).  Google had alot to say about how to manage my blog from an iPhone, but since I don’t own such a trendy device, this wasn’t going to help–besides, I was on a mission.  Further prodding led me to the WordPress WPtouch iPhone Theme, and that leads to inevitable joke: “Yup, there’s an app for that.”  Of course, it’s not called an app, but rather a plug-in, and it doesn’t run on the iPhone itself, so it’s not exactly comedic gold–but I’ll give it a comedic bronze for effort.

Anywho, what it does is formats my blog specifically for iPhone browsers to appear more kitchy.  I was concerned that it might affect how my blog is displayed in general, but it doesn’t seem to have changed anything (at least from what I can see).  I actually rolled this plug-in out on 12/19/09, so if the page has looked odd since then, please let me know.

Back on track:  Since I don’t own an iPhone, I was forced to steal my wife’s for testing purposes.  The theme does indeed load, and it looks suitably iPhoney; however, it is fairly slow to load.  I’m chalking that up to the fact that she has a first gen iPhone and it wasn’t connected to the standard (2G) cellular network.  I figure if it was a faster network, the page would load notably faster–but really that’s just an assumption on my part.  Whatever the case, it’s loading up and the browser seems to fit everything at the right dimensions for the screen.

So, thanks to you, my two iPhone bearing patrons.  Hopefully the page loads a little cleaner (and maybe a little faster) for you.  Let me know if I can do anything else to help!

Have something to add?

