Broodmother Progress: Basecoat Done

Earlier this month, I unveiled a Forgeworld Hierophant for the upcoming Arctic Apocalypse game. Unfortunately, just after I got the thing assembled, my airbrush gave out.

I’d ordered replacement parts for the device online, and when they came in, I was dismayed to find that they didn’t fit.  On a whim, I dug through some of the modeling supplies I had lying around and crudely modified a piece of tube that worked.  As a result, I was able to complete the basecoat of the beast:

The blue is GW Ultramarines Blue, with a gradual blending of GW Ice Blue.  The bone, is simply several light coats of watered down GW Bleached Bone with the tick-marks done in a 50/50 mix of GW Bleached Bone & GW Skull white (heavily diluted in water).  I’m quite pleased with how she’s progressing so far, and at this rate, she’ll easily be ready for the big game.  I might even have time to do up some other big bugs!

One thing I’m dreading though is trying to figure out how to base this thing…  Any ideas?

Have something to add?

