Phat Lewtz 2009

So, it’s that time of year, where presents flow like candy.  This year, the only 40k related stuffs I asked for were pieces of terrain.  I didn’t put them on the list until late, so the only gaming gift I got wasn’t even for me. 

My wife is an avid ameteur photographer.  What she lacks in talent, she makes up for in quantity.  Since her existing camera had seen better days, I did some research online (http://www.dpreview.com) and came up with the Canon SX 120 IS.  I opted for that model for a few reasons:

  1. Affordably priced
  2. Good 10x digital zoom
  3. Image stabalizer
  4. Easy to use
  5. Features like enhanced shutterspeed (up to 1/2500) that practically eliminates the possibilty of having blurry pictures

I SWEAR that photographing my minies didn’t factor into the equation at all, but like any good gamer, the first test photos I took with her camera were of my models–specifically my Trygon.  I was amazed that I could get within 2″ of the model and still pick up some amazing details.  I’ll be using this camera in the future to snap pics of my models–so if you see a marked improvement in quality, know that it has nothing to do with my photography skills. 🙂

So, my best gaming present wasn’t even to me.  How about you?  Did you get everything you wanted?

10 comments on “Phat Lewtz 2009

  1. Well, I can’t say I got everything I wanted… But did get everything I need and then some. A nice set of new Doc Marten boots and a new computer. The second one is nice for the 40K blogging as I have working USB ports and can download pictures from my camera again. The downside is it means I’ve gotten distracted by Dragon Age:Origins. Of course, the irony is that I’m blogging on my wife’s laptop right now because she kicked me off the new computer so that SHE could play DA:O. :-p

    • Hahaha, nice. Thanks for the reply.

      By the way, I do believe I have a spare USB 2.0 PCI card if you need one for your other computer… If so, drop me an email with your address and I’ll hook you up.

  2. Well, I can’t say I got everything I wanted… But did get everything I need and then some. A nice set of new Doc Marten boots and a new computer. The second one is nice for the 40K blogging as I have working USB ports and can download pictures from my camera again. The downside is it means I’ve gotten distracted by Dragon Age:Origins. Of course, the irony is that I’m blogging on my wife’s laptop right now because she kicked me off the new computer so that SHE could play DA:O. :-p

    • Hahaha, nice. Thanks for the reply.

      By the way, I do believe I have a spare USB 2.0 PCI card if you need one for your other computer… If so, drop me an email with your address and I’ll hook you up.

  3. Thanks for the offer but no worries. My power supply decided to blow out and short into the motherboard. This fried all of the back ports and all of the PCI slots. Only the AGP video, core and memory survived. (If the AGP video reference didn’t give it away, it was well past time for an upgrade.) I’m just going to get a new mobo for it when I turn it into a desktop for my daughter. As she’s not quite 4, I’m in no hurry.

  4. Thanks for the offer but no worries. My power supply decided to blow out and short into the motherboard. This fried all of the back ports and all of the PCI slots. Only the AGP video, core and memory survived. (If the AGP video reference didn’t give it away, it was well past time for an upgrade.) I’m just going to get a new mobo for it when I turn it into a desktop for my daughter. As she’s not quite 4, I’m in no hurry.

  5. my wife loves Dragonage, i played it through but as usual i more or less skipped the building relationships part of the game so it was a quick playthrough.

    i got a new fridge and dishwasher! My Parents and Grandparents decided ours were in need of replacement, and who am i to argue with them =) The only downside is they then said “it will be delievred tommorrow” so a stressful holiday season continued with a 8am wake up call from lowes the day after Christmas…. Plus they only got delivery not install…and our fridge didnt have any ice maker ect. so i had to run a water line through my crawl space and into the pipes ect ect ect.

    My wife got me a new case, one of the large citadel plastic shell cases thats like twice the size of the two little ones i have. But more importantly it has a shoulder strap! Sense my two little ones have had their foam bits ripped about ill probably turn them into tank cases and leave the big case for infantry.

    p.s. Rob, whats going on for Team Viktim are we getting a 4th or not? (im all for not because im a point whore lol, but im of course cool with whatever)

    • Wow, two major appliances for Xmas–that’s pretty awesome. I’d say that’s worth doing a little installation work (even if it was a royal PITA). Congratz!

      As for the 4th. I’ll send out an email and try to get a consensus…

  6. my wife loves Dragonage, i played it through but as usual i more or less skipped the building relationships part of the game so it was a quick playthrough.

    i got a new fridge and dishwasher! My Parents and Grandparents decided ours were in need of replacement, and who am i to argue with them =) The only downside is they then said “it will be delievred tommorrow” so a stressful holiday season continued with a 8am wake up call from lowes the day after Christmas…. Plus they only got delivery not install…and our fridge didnt have any ice maker ect. so i had to run a water line through my crawl space and into the pipes ect ect ect.

    My wife got me a new case, one of the large citadel plastic shell cases thats like twice the size of the two little ones i have. But more importantly it has a shoulder strap! Sense my two little ones have had their foam bits ripped about ill probably turn them into tank cases and leave the big case for infantry.

    p.s. Rob, whats going on for Team Viktim are we getting a 4th or not? (im all for not because im a point whore lol, but im of course cool with whatever)

    • Wow, two major appliances for Xmas–that’s pretty awesome. I’d say that’s worth doing a little installation work (even if it was a royal PITA). Congratz!

      As for the 4th. I’ll send out an email and try to get a consensus…

Have something to add?

