Painting Points – Setting My 2010 Goal

With the year almost over, I think it’s time to start considering New Year’s resolutions.  Though I completed all of last year’s resolutions, none of them were hobby based.  So, in addition to my resolutions focusing on personal development, I’m going to through my hat into the ring when it comes to Painting Points.

If you’re reading this blog, you’ve almost assuredly heard of the concept, and you probably know more about it than I do.  In case the concept is foreign, it’s a convention created by the lone pilgrim, as a method to inspire and keep tabs on progression.  It seems to be fairly widely adopted across the blog-o-sphere, so I figured I’d jump in as well.

Since I’m new to the painting points scheme, I figure I’ll just adopt Pilgrim’s default pricing scheme (as shown below):

  • Infantry = 1 point
  • Cavalry, bikes, or 40mm models = 2 points
  • Monster or Dreadnought = 5 points
  • Vehicle = 10 points
  • Superheavy vehicle = 20 points

As for setting a goal, I would hope to paint more than I did this year.  Since I haven’t kept really great tabs on my progress so far this year (at least prior to starting the blog), I’m going to have to swag what I completed:

  • (20) 20x Hormagaunts
  • (20) 20x Termagaunts
  • (10) 10x Genestealers
  • (6) 3x Tyrant Guard
  • (5) 1x Carnifex
  • (20) 2x Ultramarine Rhinos
  • (10) 1x Ultramarine Landspeeder Storm
  • (30) 3x Ultramarine Dreadnoughts

I may have painted more this year, but I don’t rightfully recall, and I’d rather not set too lofty a goal for next year just yet. 🙂  That said, this brings my painting total for the year to 121.  Keeping that in mind, I’d like to set my goal for next year to be 130 points. 

Granted, the color scheme of my nids is significantly easier, so that skews my results, but I expect to paint nids again, so we’ll just roll with it until next year.  If I’m still going strong and there are obvious issues with the scheme, I’ll look at changing it at that time.  Until then, here’s to 130 points!

4 comments on “Painting Points – Setting My 2010 Goal

    • Thanks, but I suspect you’re doing higher quality work than I. The high point total accomplished last year is really do to two factors:

      1. The large amount of tyranid infantry I did last year. Since I use a dipping technique, I really only do a basecoat to the models before dipping–so we’re only talking about 15 minutes per infantry model to achieve a “table-top” standard.

      2. The Marines I’ve been painting have been largely vehicles. While it’s true that I put alot more effort into my Ultramarines than my nids, I can paint a rhino faster than I can paint 10 troops, so that’s more heavily weighted in favor of painting vehicles for me.

      Really, when it comes down to it, it’s about setting a goal. It seems lofty to me, but also achievable if I try. If I don’t achieve it, then I’ll know to set a more “realistic” goal next year.

      I’m hoping that, with the new Nid codex coming out, I’ll be inspired to paint the rest of my gaunts and ‘stealers, so that will be a bunch of low hanging fruit. I also have a couple of more rhinos, a whirlwind, and a predator that I can use for marines. If I was able to do all that next year, that would really come close to the 130 points.

    • Thanks, but I suspect you’re doing higher quality work than I. The high point total accomplished last year is really do to two factors:

      1. The large amount of tyranid infantry I did last year. Since I use a dipping technique, I really only do a basecoat to the models before dipping–so we’re only talking about 15 minutes per infantry model to achieve a “table-top” standard.

      2. The Marines I’ve been painting have been largely vehicles. While it’s true that I put alot more effort into my Ultramarines than my nids, I can paint a rhino faster than I can paint 10 troops, so that’s more heavily weighted in favor of painting vehicles for me.

      Really, when it comes down to it, it’s about setting a goal. It seems lofty to me, but also achievable if I try. If I don’t achieve it, then I’ll know to set a more “realistic” goal next year.

      I’m hoping that, with the new Nid codex coming out, I’ll be inspired to paint the rest of my gaunts and ‘stealers, so that will be a bunch of low hanging fruit. I also have a couple of more rhinos, a whirlwind, and a predator that I can use for marines. If I was able to do all that next year, that would really come close to the 130 points.

Have something to add?

