Afflicted by CMBS

Hi, my name is Rob, and I have CMBS.

If you don’t know what CMBS is, I suggest you take a gander at Joe’s blog: “Ultramarine Blues,” where he explains (and, most likely, invents) the disorder in lavish detail.  It stands for Compulsive Model Buying Syndrome.

I’ve been a gamer really as long as I can remember.  I recall sitting around and playing Candyland & some crazy apple game at my “cookie grandma’s” house (a term given to my paternal great-grandma, known for an abundance of baked goods).  I started playing Warhammer 40k in my sophomore year of high school, and have been playing it ever since.  I’ve dabbled in side games: Necromunda, Warhammer Quest, GW Boardgames (Doom of the Eldar, Battle for Armageddon , etc.), and Ieven purchased Space Marine, (but never played it due to my American brain’s complete inability to comprehend the metric system).

Since I started playing, I’ve gone through various armies.  From memory, those were:

  1. 2nd Edition:
    1. Space Wolves (I wanted a marine army and friends already had BA, DA, & SW—but I refused to play Ultramarines because they were boring).
    2. Eldar
    3. Harlequins
    4. Death Company (with a splash of generic Blood Angels thrown in for color)
    5. Chaos (specifically Nurgle & Khorne)
    6. Orks  (really just a ton of plastic gretchin, a warboss, a runtherd, and a Great Gargant)
    7. IG (Rogue Trader plastics)
    8. Harlequins (again)
    9. Tyranids
    10. Genestealer Cult  (My personal favorite of all time)
  2. 2nd Edition:
    1. Ultramarines
    2. IG (Praetorians)
    3. Eldar (Biel Tan)
    4. Chaos (Nurgle & Khorne again, but this time, classic models only)
    5. Lost & the Damned (Skaven, Necromunda Ratkins, & the above chaos models – Almost like Genestealer cult re-visited).

Sometimes I would proxy my Orks as squats as well.  The way I see it, the only armies I never played are: WitchHunters (girls :P), Dark Eldar, Necrons, & Tau.  Of course, Grey knights aren’t on the above list, but I routinely alley them in, so I count that as having been played.  Old-school players will note that I don’t have Slaan or Jokaero on the list either, but I’m really a 2nd edition sort of guy, and those armies had been exterminated by that time.

The point is, I’ve played a ton, and have gone through entirely too many models.  In the days of 2nd edition, my gaming group routinely traded models between each other, so I didn’t have to invest tons of money to get an army: I simply traded away one army to get the next.  Since third edition, however, I haven’t really done that (with the exception of the Praetorians).  I still have all four armies–and just can’t seem to stop buying models.

On top of that, I’m now considering a 6th.  Yes, I’ve skipped over my 5th army as I’ve already started collecting the bits to convert an Eldar Exodite army, thanks in part to Akenseth over at http://pathoftheexodite.blogspot.com.  (Damn you, Akenseth!).

In the meantime, I’m also plugging away at an IG army that I don’t have.  What a great idea that would be, right?  I could use them as IG allies in Apocalypse games (http://militaryofultramar.blogspot.com/), Genestealer Hybrids for a Cult army, and maybe as a spare 6th army of straight IG as well.  (Nevermind that I’ve only ever played Apoc once, and I already have enough Skaven & Ratskins in my now defunct “Lost & the Damned” army to do either of the last two).  But how cool would it be to have a squad of Adeptus Arbites, Imperial Beastmen, or Jokaero in your army?

I have a problem.  Every time I come up with a seemingly good idea, I feel compelled to make the army–even if I never play it.  In the case of the Praetorians, I had purchased elephants for sentinels, camels for my rough riders, Ogryns with bones through their noses in tribal warpaint, and a bunch of Old Foundry arabs to wash my tanks and herd my sentinels around.  Despite all this, I wound up selling them without ever playing a single game with them…

At least I’m keeping the armies I build (for the most part) so I’m not taking a loss on turning over army after army on ebay.  Maybe that’s a step in the right direction?  On the other hand—I also have a bunch of painted Eldar models that I need to sell in order to justify the Exodite army.  Woe is me.

Anyone looking to pick up a pointy eared army?

One comment on “Afflicted by CMBS

  1. Pingback: Inebriated Ebaying | Warhammer 39,9999

Have something to add?

