The Lazy Man’s Guide to Building a Better Blog

One way to make your page stand out is to create content. The easiest way to do that is to be a great web designer and writer, and document your real world experiences (or your grandiose ideas) in ways that captivate the audience. If, however, you’re like me and lacking in several of the above mentioned departments, you can always just steal content from other people!

Ok, so I’m not stealing content, it’s just a matter of placing dynamic content on your page, so that the information changes without you having to do anything.  Since I started this blog a week ago, I’ve been looking for a way to have a dynamicly updated blogroll: that is to say, I don’t simply want links to other people’s blogs, but I want a link to their most recent post. With technologies like RSS (Really Simple Syndication) and Atom, you’d think this would be a breeze; however, it proved to be harder to uncover than I thought.

Apparently, this sort of thing is easier with Blogger (or I’m just really bad at web design)–or maybe it’s actually the default option for a blogroll, since so many blogger accounts seem to have the feature; however, for a WordPress account, it’s not so.  By default, the “blogroll” is merely a series of static links.  It’s truly unimaginative.

My links (as of the day I wrote this post) are now provided through a Feed Reading Blogroll. If you like it, and are using a WordPress account, you can download it here. You’ll also need to setup a Google AJAX Feed API here (don’t worry, it’s just a click of a button—but you’ll need to paste the key it gives you into the setup for the feed-reading-blogroll). Once that’s done, it’s a matter of playing with your links within the application settings (ADMIN > PLUGINS > {Feed Reading Blogroll} > Settings) or your links themselves.

I’ll update this post later this week with some more specifics, once I tweak it a bit. In the meantime, I’ve got some openings now for links to other blogs. Is your blog the right one for me to link to? I’m looking for mature gamers with regularly updated (high quality) content: something that can catch my eye and/or hold my interest. If this sounds like your blog, by all means… speak up!

6 comments on “The Lazy Man’s Guide to Building a Better Blog

    • No problem–like I said, over the next week I’m gonna work on tweaking it a bit to see if I can’t get a little more out of it. You’re welcome to stop by and see if I’ve accomplished anything in about a week.

    • No problem–like I said, over the next week I’m gonna work on tweaking it a bit to see if I can’t get a little more out of it. You’re welcome to stop by and see if I’ve accomplished anything in about a week.

Have something to add?

