Painted Rhinos – Pimp My Ride: Ultra Style

So, to prepare for an impending game against Sacrificial Kris™ this upcoming Friday, I figured I might as well give transports a shot, so I finished up my rhinos: 

 Rhinos1 (Large)  Rhinos2 (Large)

No, I didn’t paint them all toninght.  I actually had the first one done from a couple of weeks ago (before I started the blog) and the other one was mostly finished.  Tonight, I just finished up the doors & magnets (still drying).  I bet you thought I speed painted those, eh?  Alas, you were duped by the magic of the internet… but that’s the great thing about starting a blog 17 years into the hobby.  When I’m feeling lazy, I can pull something out, dust it off and show it off as “new.”

The intent is to paint them up as generic as possible, and leave the tops unglued + magnetize the side doors so that I can use them as rhinos, razorbacks, predators, or whirlwinds.  In Friday’s game, I’m sure I want to toy with tanks, but as of yet, I’m not sure which configuration to go with.  Though, since I learned that my wife made plans for us tomorrow night, if I chose anything other than normal rhinos, I’m going to have to play them as proxies or *gasp* play with unpainted miniatures.

Of course, anyone who knows me IRL will know that I have a nasty habit of playing with all non-painted models.  I don’t know about y’all, but I’ve always hated painting.  Loathed it even.  Sure, I’ve painted “armies” in my day: Harlequins, Dorfs, Harlequins (yeah, a 2nd time), Night Goblins (notice: no Orcs) and um… maybe that’s it.  Though I’ve gone through at least a dozen armies, I just don’t care enough to paint them.  With the exception of the Goblins, it’s always a compact elite force that consists of maybe 50 models.  Well, that was then, and this is now.  I never was the kind of guy that painted before, but then again, I wasn’t the sort that wrote up detailed battle reports or had his own blog.  I’m a changed man, ya see?

Actually, I kind of enjoy painting now, so I’m going to ride the feeling as long as it lasts…

But back on topic: Tanks.  I really haven’t been a fan of tanks ever in the game–though maybe a little in 3rd edition.  I’ve always looked at them as too easy to kill.  Why take a predator, when you can get roughly the same loadout from a dev squad, and a single lascannon can’t kill an entire dev squad in one shot?  I’m still rather leery about it, but the guys goaded me into it last week, and despite my complete lack of understanding of why “mech” lists are so prevalent, I’m willing to at least give tanks another shot.

So what do you think?  What kind of rhino-variant tanks should I put in a given army?  Which have you had the most success with?

8 comments on “Painted Rhinos – Pimp My Ride: Ultra Style

  1. I’m a fan of Predators with an auto cannon turret and heavy bolter sponsons. Not bad at chomping on light vehicles or troops.

  2. I’m a fan of Predators with an auto cannon turret and heavy bolter sponsons. Not bad at chomping on light vehicles or troops.

  3. Even though I take straight Rhinos, I’m not a fan of the whole “Mech” listing that seems to be catching. However, I’m much more of a “fluff” player anyways. It’s more important to me that my army fits their theme than having that power list to dominate the whole world with. 🙂

    Anyways… *steps down from soap-box*… I’d say Devestators with a Razorback could be a fun thing or even with just a Rhino, since they can fire two of their heavy weaopns from it! How’s that for an image? Two Devestator Marines hanging out of the top-hatch of a speeding Rhino with Plasma Cannons blazing! Fun stuff.

  4. Even though I take straight Rhinos, I’m not a fan of the whole “Mech” listing that seems to be catching. However, I’m much more of a “fluff” player anyways. It’s more important to me that my army fits their theme than having that power list to dominate the whole world with. 🙂

    Anyways… *steps down from soap-box*… I’d say Devestators with a Razorback could be a fun thing or even with just a Rhino, since they can fire two of their heavy weaopns from it! How’s that for an image? Two Devestator Marines hanging out of the top-hatch of a speeding Rhino with Plasma Cannons blazing! Fun stuff.

Have something to add?

