Statcounter.com – Evidence that Nobody Reads This

You know who you are. I now officially have a visitor to my own blog.  Ok, the visitor in this instance is me, so yeah, I know who I am, but at least I have traffic.

Actually, I’m new to blogging in general, and just cutting my teeth here, so I thought I’d take a second to write about my trials in blog creation, despite the fact that it isn’t directly 40k related, in the hopes that it might help someone in the future. 

So, with the immense throngs of 1 people that I have visiting my site already, I’m in no place to tell you how to drive traffic to your site, but I did find a way to quantify that traffic.  There’s a plugin from the site http://www.statcounter.com that will track visitors to your blog.  It ties directly into wordpress (I’m not sure if it’s compatable with Blogspot, but that’s another issue).

It’s not the most intuitive thing to setup, but a fairly good writeup can be found here:  http://blog.statcounter.com/2008/01/official-wordpress-plugin-for-statcounter/.  The only caveats I’d like to add are that in order to get it to work, you need to open your plugins, the click on the link embedded in the description that says “Adds the StatCounter tracking code to your blog. After uploading this plugin click ‘Activate’ (to the right) and then afterwards you must visit the options page and enter your StatCounter Project Info to enable logging”

(HINT: You want the link that says “OPTION PAGE”)

Within there you can input the numbers given to you from statcounter for your project number, security code, etc. And you’re off and running.  It doesn’t look like any of the statistic information will be immediately available within the wordpress admin console, so you’ll have to go check out your stats at the statcounter website.  For demonstration purposes, I’ve made all of my stats available publically at the link below:

http://my.statcounter.com/project/standard/stats.php?project_id=5189563&guest=1

Eat your heart out, bloggers!

16 comments on “Statcounter.com – Evidence that Nobody Reads This

  1. GADZOOKS!

    I have 6 unique readers already! That means someone is actually looking at this. I better clean up my act, eh?

  2. Don’t feel bad, it took me years to get to the point that I’m at now with blogging, and the number of daily readers. It’s not something that just happens over night…

    The trick is to find what draws people to your page.. For example I know I’ll never be as big as FtW or BoLS and many others, because I only write about “My army” and not about tactics, rules, general 40k stuff. So unless someone just happens to see a few models I’ve done, or interested in pics and the odd “How to” then my site will sit quietly in the corner collects it’s odd visitor or 10. So what I wanted to say there is that you can go the mainstream route or the back road route, both will bring you visitors, but visitors alone shouldn’t be why we blog…

    As for statcounter.. yeah it’s not bad, just remember to set your blocking cookie so that your visits don’t get included. I actually use 3 different counters and average them out, because they all give different results.

  3. Don’t feel bad, it took me years to get to the point that I’m at now with blogging, and the number of daily readers. It’s not something that just happens over night…

    The trick is to find what draws people to your page.. For example I know I’ll never be as big as FtW or BoLS and many others, because I only write about “My army” and not about tactics, rules, general 40k stuff. So unless someone just happens to see a few models I’ve done, or interested in pics and the odd “How to” then my site will sit quietly in the corner collects it’s odd visitor or 10. So what I wanted to say there is that you can go the mainstream route or the back road route, both will bring you visitors, but visitors alone shouldn’t be why we blog…

    As for statcounter.. yeah it’s not bad, just remember to set your blocking cookie so that your visits don’t get included. I actually use 3 different counters and average them out, because they all give different results.

  4. Sorry, I took a few days to reply… I had forgotten where I posted this and it took me a bit to find your site again. Something else to increase your readers would be to join the FtW Blogger Group, or BoLS Alliance, or if you want I could throw a link on my blog as well, not that I’ll increase your traffic much 😉

    Regarding counters, I use Statcounter, Firestats, and WordPress.com Stats. The biggest problem is that some of them still count web crawls as hits and can give you a false reading. The most important thing is just remember that the data isn’t exact.

  5. Sorry, I took a few days to reply… I had forgotten where I posted this and it took me a bit to find your site again. Something else to increase your readers would be to join the FtW Blogger Group, or BoLS Alliance, or if you want I could throw a link on my blog as well, not that I’ll increase your traffic much 😉

    Regarding counters, I use Statcounter, Firestats, and WordPress.com Stats. The biggest problem is that some of them still count web crawls as hits and can give you a false reading. The most important thing is just remember that the data isn’t exact.

    • Actually, I wrote this blog entry really just as a method to get more awareness to people out there that these tools were available. The inspiration behind it was that I had asked a friend of mine to go out and check out my blog, and I thought he was giving me the run-around, but I had no way to prove it. That’s why I installed the tools in the first place. Have you installed something like this? I think you’ll find that people are indeed looking at your blog, but just not posting. I was surprised to find just that in my blog–you should check it out if you haven’t already…

    • Actually, I wrote this blog entry really just as a method to get more awareness to people out there that these tools were available. The inspiration behind it was that I had asked a friend of mine to go out and check out my blog, and I thought he was giving me the run-around, but I had no way to prove it. That’s why I installed the tools in the first place. Have you installed something like this? I think you’ll find that people are indeed looking at your blog, but just not posting. I was surprised to find just that in my blog–you should check it out if you haven’t already…

Have something to add?

